Outlander – The Fox’s Lair [Epi. 208]

oo

I’m not sure about you, but I’m so f’n glad we left France!

Some of the past seven episodes have been good and some brilliant, while the story at times painfully slow, still kept moving us forward and I was elated as our couple decided to plow through their pain and sorrow, and head back home to Scotland and see if they can do anything to help their Clan survive the upcoming battles.

I loved that they’ve adjusted the music to reflect the new opening title sequence and I loved spotting the new scenes from the upcoming episodes. 

Bear McCreary’s music is just brilliant!

jf

The opening images of  the Highlands, the music which accompanied all those scenes at Lallybroch just took my breath away. It was soulful and soothing. Just what we all needed at this time of healing, for both Jamie and Claire.

I thoroughly enjoyed every second of our couples return to their home as they embraced peace and calm of everyday life. Seeing Jenny and Jamie bicker again was so much fun and when she gives him the rosary?! OMG! Can’t wait for S3 and Voyager now.

I did say every second, because no sooner did I see them enjoy their new crops of potatoes give them joy, when the letter arrives with ominous news from Paris. And off they go to visit Jamie’s “grandsire” Lord Lovat or the Old Fox as he’s known. This was something Jamie wasn’t happy to do, yet he had to if he was going to join Bonnie Prince Charlie.

jk

Watching Jamie come into his own was pure pleasure. I am so glad that we got to see his character blossom right before our eyes. The scene between Jamie and Claire talking about what they should do next in regards to the future and the battles that are coming their way, was so poignant and telling of Jamie’s loyalty to his Clan and of how much he loves and appreciates his woman and her abilities to influence and change if not historical future, at least the lives of the people they’ve met.

And then we’re blessed with the scene of Jamie cradling the latest of Jenny’s babies and BOOM! I didn’t understand a word he was saying but man-o-man, that scene just made me think of Faith all over again and I cried like a baby. 

I liked the scenes at the Beaufort Castle, seat of the Fraser Clan chief, Lord Lovat. Colum Mackenzie being there was awesome! That was a huge surprise and gave the show an interesting and needed counter point to Jamie’s reason for being there.

ooo

Old Fox scenes were superb! Loved every minute of the old cute!

It’s the scenes with Leery that left me a bit baffled, but I did understand the reason why they had to bring her in eventfully. As for how they brought her back, that was a bit wishy-washy. I didn’t buy her “repentant” act for a minute!

I also wasn’t much fond of the whole Leery-Young Simon seduction scene. I just don’t like it when they have Claire act out of character and manipulates people around her. I just didn’t buy it. But, hey! It worked I guess….

The Hall scenes were good and suspenseful and Jamie held his own, but was saved by Claire yet once more. I’m sure that Jamie had no idea she was going to pull the caper off. I’m also sure that he would have risked Lallybroch. In the end, it all worked out and he didn’t need to risk it.

Outlander Season 2 2016

In the last scene, when we watch Jamie and Claire leave the castle and are on the road with Young Simon and his men, I just about melted watching those two ride into the unknown. She is such a great partner to him. They may have been surprised to see the old cute but I wasn’t. He is one wily old man and he was going to ensure his place with either the loss or a victory of either side.

Outlander Season 2 2016

And off they all went to meet up with Murtagh and the Jamie’s men …

Melanie

Leave a Reply

