Book Review

“Never a Mistress, No Longer a Maid” by Maureen Driscoll

STORY: Caught behind enemy lines at the Battle of Waterloo, nurse Jane Wetherby is forced to seek shelter with British operative Lord Edward Kellington. After a night of passion, the two are separated. With nothing but the alias Jane used to protect her family, Lord Edward is unable to find the woman he can’t forget.

Seven years later, Jane courts scandal by serving as the unofficial surgeon in the village of Marston Vale. When Edward arrives to formalize his betrothal to a viscount’s daughter in accordance with his late father’s wishes, Jane has no choice but to watch the match proceed. When a threat from the past emerges, Jane must join forces with Edward to safeguard her loved ones. But at what risk to her heart…

REVIEW: “Never a Mistress, No Longer a Maid” a début romance novel by Maureen Driscoll is a thrilling Regency Historical romance that spans seven years and begins in Belgium right after the battle at Waterloo. In this first installment of Kellington Series we meet the family, headed by William, Duke of Lynwood who has three brothers and a sister who were all named after England’s Kings and a Queen. Edward, Ned, was second born; Arthur and Henry were followed by Elizabeth.

This is Ned’s story and it has everything a romance novel should: a handsome and very charming hero determined to protect the love of his life and a beautiful and strong heroine, determined to keep the biggest secret of her life.

Their story is sweet and sensual as well as passionate. It is filled with secrets and intrigue, redemption and forgiveness, humor and wit. Here’s an excerpt that I liked a lot:

“He knew the leg needed to be tended to, even if he didn’t quite trust the person would do the tending. But, given the lack of options, he resigned himself to it.

‘You have absolutely no respect for good Scots whiskey. May I have another drink? I assure you I’m filled with plenty of spirits that would be well assuaged by the potion.’ Then he gave her the smile that had melted half the hearts in the ton and spread a good portion of their legs.

She gave him the drink. Then the stick.

He obligingly bit down.

‘Are you ready?’ she asked.

‘Madam,” he said, taking the stick out of his mouth, ‘I will never be ready for you to cut into me. However, I am resigned.’

He replaced the stick and bit down hard.”

I liked Ms. Driscoll’s writing style and the pace of the book. When I read a book I want to be invested in these people, I want to care for them, and Ms. Driscoll has managed to meet all those requirements for me. I’m looking forward to visiting these people over and over. However, I still wanted just a bit more depth and detail. For example…

**SPOILER**

Just two or three more sentences would make me feel and not only see the first reunion between Ned and Jane.

All of the secondary characters in this book are well written, three-dimensional with strong voices of their own. I understand that each one will have their own story, and let me tell you, I can’t wait to meet Lizzie’s hero. The man who tames her will certainly deserve respect of her brother the Duke. Speaking of our Duke, Ms. Driscoll has created a very strong character in writing him and she has managed to keep him under control, lest he take over Ned’s story. Not many authors can balance the secondary characters so well, but she has done an outstanding job at that! I will be very disappointed not to have Rosalind fall in love with our Duke. This is a wonderful story of true love, trust, family and friendship. It’s a keeper and ‘must read.’

Yet another discovery of a début author that I’ve had the privilege to read. I am astonished at some of these women that seem to be coming out of the woodwork, brimming with obvious talent. These women have never been published, yet their prose can go toe-to-toe with the best of them. I know. I’ve read THE best of the best.

5 thoughts on ““Never a Mistress, No Longer a Maid” by Maureen Driscoll”

  1. Hey Johanna!

    Thanks…I hope you’ll like it. If there’s any way for you to review it on Amazon, that be great. New authors need to be encouraged…well the good ones at least 🙂
    Mel

  2. This book is a GREAT read!!! Great storyline, I love those long lost love kind of books! I love the growth of the characters and how well the story fell together!!! Bravo!!! Nice, quick, witty read… those are my favorite kind!!!

  3. Told you so 🙂

    Mo would be very happy if you’d leave a review of it on Amazon as well, if you have the time. She’s published this on her own and I’m hoping she’ll stop by soon to tell us all about it.

    Thanks so much Kristal!

Leave a comment