Book Review

‘Where Hearts Meet’ by Maureen Driscoll

whm mdSTORY: Arabella Warren has been trying to find employment as a governess for several months. But after having to leave numerous households for unsavory reasons, she has found it next to impossible to attain a position in a decent home. Then she sees an advertisement in the newspaper for a widower seeking a wife to help care for his two children. She sets out to convince the man that he needs a governess, not a wife, and that she would be the perfect lady for the job.

Jonathan Graves still grieves the loss of his wife, even as he tries to create a happy home for his five-year-old twins. Knowing he will never love again, he believes the best solution is to enter into a marriage of convenience. His children will have a stepmother and he can go on loving the woman who passed away. But he is not prepared to meet the lady who will change all their lives forever.

BUY LINKS: Amazon

REVIEW: It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of this author and her writing voice. In every story she’s written so far, she has managed to make me laugh and cry and in this one she’s accomplished both.

Jonathan and Arabella were both strong characters. Jonathan at first fought and didn’t know what to do with his feelings for Arabella, because his feelings for his dead wife were still strong,  but little by little, he started to make a place in his life and his heart for this wonderful woman that brought smiles to his children. And soon enough, he and his children just couldn’t see themselves living without her.

I liked the way the author handled this romance by showing us the slow and steady growing of affection, that then blossomed into love between the two. Jonathan’s love for his deceased wife was very touching that it brought tears to my eyes.

There are so many things I liked in this story, but what I loved a lot were the children and their antics, and I found the antagonist to our heroine to be so mean and I couldn’t wait to see how she’d be put in her place.

If you’re in a mood for a sweet and sensual love story with some humor in it, I hope you give this story a try.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the author

6 thoughts on “‘Where Hearts Meet’ by Maureen Driscoll”

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you! None of this would have been possible without your amazing editing and everything I’ve learned from your reviews. You’ve made me both a smarter writer and reader.

    1. Oh, stop it! You’re making me blush 😉
      You are a very good story teller, and all I did was urge you on because the stories you have need to be read by all of us.

      I am looking forward to the thriller/suspense you have coming and I am hoping it’s as good as the historicals you’ve written.

      HUGS!

      Mel

  2. Enjoyed the review! Am a big fan of Maureen’s too. Probably won’t get to start the series until summer…but that doesn’t mean I can’t start stockpiling! LOL! 😉

    1. Thanks a bunch!
      So glad you’re a fan. I saw a huge talent when I read her first book.
      As for stockpiling?! Holy crap, Batman! I have an embarrassment of riches when it comes to books. I just finished Carla Kelly and Caroline Fyffe. Right now I’m reading Shana Galen and EE Burke while Ella Quinn, Elizabeth Boyle and Sabrina Jeffries are in combat for top of my TBR 😉

      HUGS!

      Mel

      PS: I wondered if you’d like to review for b2b? I have a spot open 🙂

Leave a comment