‘Silk Is for Seduction’ by Loretta Chase

sifs lcSTORY: From the Design Book of Marcelline Noirot:
The allure of the perfect gown should be twofold:
ladies would die to wear it . . .
and gentlemen would kill to remove it!

Brilliant and ambitious dressmaker Marcelline Noirot is London’s rising star. And who better to benefit from her talent than the worst-dressed lady in the ton, the Duke of Clevedon’s intended bride? Winning the future duchess’s patronage means prestige and fortune for Marcelline and her sisters. To get to the lady, though, Marcelline must win over Clevedon, whose standards are as high as his morals are . . . not.

The prize seems well worth the risk—but this time Marcelline’s met her match. Clevedon can design a seduction as irresistible as her dresses;and what begins as a flicker of desire between two of the most passionately stubborn charmers in London soon ignites into a delicious inferno . . . and a blazing scandal.

And now both their futures hang by an exquisite thread of silk . . .

REVIEW: I read this book awhile ago but it looks like I’ve never reviewed it, so here it goes.

I am a huge, H.U.G.E. fan of this author. She is a master of her craft. She knows her audience and 99% of the time she delivers on plot, pace and prose. Her books deliver on sensuality and romance and she rarely fails to entertain me. I find her heroes and heroines humorous and endearing and she forces me to care for them. That’s why I’m not sure why I’m having such a hard time connecting with the heroes and heroines in this series.

I am aware this is fiction and I actually enjoy suspending belief and going with a flow of a story. However, this premise of three sisters in the dressmaking business being privy to aristocratic gossip and secrets just didn’t work that well for me. The sisters appeared a bit too ambitious and I was having a hard time liking them.

That said, this first story in the series was well put together and there are a lot of parts in it that I enjoyed, especially the relationship between the heroine’s daughter and the Duke. As the story progressed, my opinion of the two leads changed with it and I came to like them and enjoy their repartee. I also liked the slow burn of the romance as their relationship developed and progressed from friendship to romance.

Will I recommend it? You bet I will! It’s Loretta Chase and while this may not be one of her best series, it’s still well written and I’m sure will bring you a few hours of enjoyment.

Melanie for b2b

