‘An Almond for a Parrot’ by Wray Delaney

aafap wdSTORY: ‘I would like to make myself the heroine of this story – an innocent victim led astray. But alas sir, I would be lying…’

London, 1756: In Newgate prison, Tully Truegood awaits trial. Her fate hanging in the balance, she tells her life-story. It’s a tale that takes her from skivvy in the back streets of London, to conjuror’s assistant, to celebrated courtesan at her stepmother’s Fairy House, the notorious house of ill-repute where decadent excess is a must…

Tully was once the talk of the town. Now, with the best seats at Newgate already sold in anticipation of her execution, her only chance of survival is to get her story to the one person who can help her avoid the gallows.

She is Tully Truegood.

Orphan, whore, magician’s apprentice.

Murderer?

REVIEW: What made me want to read this story was its title and book blurb. I should have passed on it and here’s why.

You’ve heard me say this many times but it ‘s worth repeating: I read books because I love stories that offer me characters that are complex and that are driving the said stories. All else, plot, pace and setting is secondary to me. I have to be vested in the characters in order to care for their story. If I’m not vested, the story will almost always fail to grab me.

That said, I’m not surprised that I found this story lacking. I found the heroine, if she can even be called that, unrealistic. I felt that the author couldn’t make up her mind how many “heartaches” to saddle her with, so she just gave her all she could think of, from physical and sexual abuse, child marriage and prostitution and oh, let’s not forget that she can communicate with spirits.

I also found the erotic part of this story to be so ridiculous that all it did was to make me laugh and keep me away from some vegetables. I’ll leave it to your imagination to figure that statement!

In all honesty, I have to say just skip this one.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

One thought on “‘An Almond for a Parrot’ by Wray Delaney

Leave a Reply

