Book Review

‘A Duke of Her Own’ by Eloisa James

adoho-ejSTORY: A Duke Must Choose Wisely…

Leopold Dautry, the notorious Duke of Villiers, must wed quickly and nobly—and his choices, alas, are few. The Duke of Montague’s daughter, Eleanor, is exquisitely beautiful and fiercely intelligent. Villiers betroths himself to her without further ado.

After all, no other woman really qualifies. Lisette, the outspoken daughter of the Duke of Gilner, cares nothing for clothing or decorum. She’s engaged to another man, and doesn’t give a fig for status or title. Half the ton believes Lisette mad—and Villiers is inclined to agree.

Torn between logic and passion, between intelligence and imagination, Villiers finds himself drawn to the very edge of impropriety. But it is not until he’s in a duel to the death, fighting for the reputation of the woman he loves, that Villiers finally realizes that the greatest risk may not be in the dueling field…

But in the bedroom. And the heart.

REVIEW: I should have known that the best story in this series would come at the end of it. This story has everything I love in romance, from an awesome hero to a wonderful heroine, a host of great characters, plenty of humor and a romance filled with sensuality to curl your toes. But what made this story so god to me, were two things, Villiers’s six children and a dialogue between every character that is written to perfection.

If you love solid, well written and fast paced stories that will engage all your senses, than look no further, but I warn you. In order for you to get the scope of the character of our duke, you’ll have to start from book one and follow through to the end, as the duke is one of the most common denominators throughout the series. I found the series well written and some of the stories I liked more than the others, but one character stands out more than any other and that’s Villiers.

There was a little grievance I had almost at the end, but that in no way has diminished the joy I had in reading it.

My advice to you is not to read this series out-of-order. I started with the book one, Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses, #1) , then I skipped to Duchess By Night (Desperate Duchesses, #3) ,  followed by this one, A Duke of Her Own (Desperate Duchesses, #6)  and finishing the series with, This Duchess of Mine (Desperate Duchesses, #5) . I still have to read An Affair Before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses #2) and When the Duke Returns (Desperate Duchesses #4). Which I’ll probably do next week. If you have the time and money, this series is worth it.

The full series reading order is as follows:

Book 1: Desperate Duchesses
Book 2: An Affair Before Christmas
Book 3: Duchess By Night
Book 4: When the Duke Returns
Book 5: This Duchess of Mine
Book 6: A Duke of Her Own

Melanie for b2b


1 thought on “‘A Duke of Her Own’ by Eloisa James”

  1. I read these first 6 books last year. It was such fun to read Villiers story after how he appeared in the earlier stories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s