‘Four Nights With the Duke’ by Eloisa James

fnwad-ejSTORY: As a young girl, Emilia Gwendolyn Carrington told the annoying future Duke of Pindar that she would marry any man in the world before him—so years later she is horrified to realize that she has nowhere else to turn.

Evander Septimus Brody has his own reasons for agreeing to Mia’s audacious proposal, but there’s one thing he won’t give his inconvenient wife: himself.

Instead, he offers Mia a devil’s bargain… he will spend four nights a year with her. Four nights, and nothing more. And those only when she begs for them.

Which Mia will never do.

Now Vander faces the most crucial challenge of his life: he must seduce his own wife in order to win her heart—and no matter what it takes, this is the one battle he can’t afford to lose.

REVIEW: This is book two in EJ’s Desperate Duchesses by the Numbers series [btw: I’d love to know who came up with this title of the series] and by now I’m sure as to what to expect from this second generation of DD’s series and I’m finding myself less and less surprised by the plot, which in itself isn’t so bad. I find that I am well entertained by almost every character in these stories. That’s a win-win for me. As long as I like the characters, I’m happy to read the book straight through.

We met this duke in the first book of this series, but we get to see what makes him tick in this one.

I loved the opening of this story because it does a wonderful job of introducing us to the two leads as teenagers and to their personalities as such and gives us a hint as to who they’ll grow into.

The hero was one complex character and even though it took me awhile to get to know him, I knew that he’d turn out to be a decent and good man. Vander’s arrogance was off putting at the beginning, but his relationship with Charlie and his complex relationship with Mia made him feel more real, more likeable.

The heroine I liked from the get-go, but at times I just wanted to shake her and give her a talking to. I did love the fact that she was decisive and that she was an authoress, but it’s her humanity that attracted me the most to her. Her love and sacrifice for her nephew was palpable and watching her insecurities and struggles through her feelings of love for Vender was very emotional and touching.

And as usual, this author populates her story once more with an array of wonderfully fun and entertaining characters, from Vander’s uncle Chuffy to Jafeer, Vander’s Arabian stallion. And bringing back the Duke of Villiers, Thorn and India was like icing on the cake.

If I had only one word to describe this story, it would be satisfying. I highly recommend it and guarantee you’ll have much fun reading it.

Melanie for b2b