‘Desperate Duchesses’ by Eloisa James

dd-ejSTORY: “Welcome to a world of reckless sensuality and glittering sophistication…of dangerously handsome gentlemen and young ladies longing to gain a title . . . of games played for high stakes, including–on occasion–a lady’s virtue.”

A marquess’s sheltered only daughter, Lady Roberta St. Giles falls in love with a man she glimpses across a crowded ballroom: a duke, a game player of consummate skill, a notorious rakehell who shows no interest in marriage–until he lays eyes on Roberta.

Yet the Earl of Gryffyn knows too well that the price required to gain a coronet is often too high. Damon Reeve, the earl, is determined to protect the exquisite Roberta from chasing after the wrong destiny.

Can Damon entice her into a high-stakes game of his own, even if his heart is likely to be lost in the venture?

REVIEW: As promised, I’m on an EJ kick ever since I loved the ‘Seven Minutes in Heaven’ so I’m plowing through all the desperate duchesses and this is the first one in the series. First, I must say that the author took a chance in giving us multiple points of view and some of you will like it and some of you will hate it. As for myself, I’m somewhere in between. I thought it was well done because it introduced us to the future main characters and their personalities and backgrounds, but at times it felt a bit confusing because of the multiple story lines happening all at once.

Which brings me to the main characters of this book, Lady Roberta St. Giles and Damon Reeve, Earl of Gryffyn. I honestly think that the lack of chemistry between the two is due to their story being lost in the shuffle of everyone else vying for attention. 

I wished that the romance was moving a bit faster, but I did understand why it didn’t. Our heroine was “in love” for the most part of the book with Duke of Villiers and our poor hero kept chasing her around trying to talk her out of her “obsession” with the duke.

However, regardless of all that, I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed meeting Duchess of Beaumont and her husband, Elijah and the Duke of Villier’s intrigued me to no end.

In the end, this is more of an ensemble cast of characters that at times appear that they’re chasing the wrong love interest, and I do recommend it being read before you tackle the rest of the series. It will be less confusing. Trust me.

Melanie for b2b

