‘Seven Minutes in Heaven’ by Eloisa James

smih-ejSTORY: All of Eugenia Snowe’s problems start when Edward Reeve, an arrogant bastard son of an earl, bursts into her registry office. He wants a governess and he wants her. She gives him the governess he demands, but she refuses to give herself.

No question that Eugenia enjoys crossing wits with the brilliant inventor, but she will never tarnish her reputation with an affaire, particularly with a man who doesn’t realize she’s a lady!

She holds her ground…until he kidnaps her.

Ward will stop at nothing to convince Eugenia that they’re meant to be together. He promises her heaven.

She gives him seven minutes.

REVIEW: I have to admit that I’ve not read many books from this author. I liked her Pleasures series and  I also read couple of books from her Fairy Tales series, and loved one more than the other. So, after reading this story and loving every minute of it, I’ve decided to plow through EJ’s backlist, working my way down from this book. My local used bookstore was very happy with my purchase this past weekend 🙂

In the first book of the Desperate Duchesses series we meet a bastard son of the hero of that book, Teddy. He was given to the hero to raise and his father actually does something unthinkable for that time. He choses to acknowledge him and raise him in his own household, under the same roof he’d be bringing his own legitimate children. Fast forward two or so decades, and we now meet once more Little Teddy, known to all now as “Ward” and who’s inherited two half siblings that are in a dire need of a governess, and Ward himself is in a dire need of making a good match because keeping those children depends on it.

There’s so much to love about this story, from our hero who is as unconventional as our heroine, but for some reason, the two kids in this story have stolen my heart. They were precautious, smart and utterly adorable.

As for the heroine, Eugenia, I was very impressed with her strength and wit. As Regency heroines go, she was one of the best I’ve read in a long time. I loved the fact that her feelings for her dead husband were complex even though he’s been dead for seven years. I literally had tears in my eyes as she finally lets go of Andrew.

And then there was Ward. This man was such an intriguing and interesting character. He had inner strength and exuded confidence from the moment he showed up on the page. I fell in love with him immediately! The love he had for his brother and sister was palpable. Yes, he had some faults. But he wasn’t stubborn and that was the key, because as soon as he figured out his mistakes, he was ready to admit to them and ask for forgiveness.

Seriously, this book rocks! You can’t miss it.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

