‘Heroes Are My Weakness’ by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

hamw-sepSTORY: The dead of winter.

An isolated island off the coast of Maine.

A man.

A woman.

A sinister house looming over the sea …

He’s a reclusive writer whose macabre imagination creates chilling horror novels. She’s a down-on-her-luck actress reduced to staging kids’ puppet shows. He knows a dozen ways to kill with his bare hands. She knows a dozen ways to kill with laughs.

But she’s not laughing now. When she was a teenager, he terrified her. Now they’re trapped together on a snowy island off the coast of Maine. Is he the villain she remembers or has he changed? Her head says no. Her heart says yes.

It’s going to be a long, hot winter.

REVIEW: I am still new to this author and thus am feeling torn about this story. I have a feeling that if I were used to her writing voice, some of the things would have “fallen into place” much more easily.

What made this a disappointment for me was the lack of chemistry between the two leads. Try as I might, I just couldn’t get them to click in my mind’s eye. On the other hand, I liked both characters and their individuality. So, separate, they were kind of cool, but together, they were just blah.

Plot wise it wasn’t bad. It was interesting and at times entertaining and funny, but because of its slow pace, I enjoyed it less.

In the end, if you’re a fan of this author, I have a feeling you’ll like it much more than I did.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the

One thought on “‘Heroes Are My Weakness’ by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

  1. Hi Melanie – I have read other SEP books and this was not her usual style. I think it was supposed to be a little Wuthering Heights – like. I felt like you did about the chemistry. Don’t let this discourage you, as her books are generally excellent! The first one I read, which is one of my favorites, is Call Me Irresistible. The whole Wynette, Texas series was good. I only read a couple in the Chicago Stars series, but they were good, too!

Leave a Reply

