‘The Coldwater Warm Hearts Club’ by Lexi Eddings

tcwwhc-leSTORY: For Lacy Evans, returning to flyover country is the definition of failure. She had everything she wanted an award-winning design firm, a chic city condo, a handsome, aristocratic almost-fiance. Then her boyfriend ran off with her receptionist and her clients’ money. Now she s out of business and crashing on her parents couch. When she slides into a booth at the Green Apple Grill, she’s feeling lower than a worm’s belly.

But Lacy s old classmate Jacob Tyler is happy to see her. Coldwater s football hero came back from Afghanistan short part of a leg and some peace of mind, but he s counting his blessings, and Lacy could be one of them. Then there s her ex, Daniel, wearing a sheriff s badge and a wedding ring, but looking like young summer love. And a host of unlikely serendipities: the selfless do-gooders who sneak around taming curmudgeons and constructing second chances. The Fighting Marmots. The sprawling, take-no-prisoners Bugtussle clan.

Lacy thought she knew her hometown, and herself. She just wanted to get on her feet and keep running. But the longer she stays, the more she finds to change her mind. . .

REVIEW: Lexi Eddings is a new voice of contemporary romance, however Mia Marlow is one of my all time favorite historical romance authors. Knowing that, I was praying that I’d at least like this new reincarnation of her writing voice. And guess what? I loved it!

For me, even though this was Lacy and Jake’s story, it just felt more of an ensemble tale, and that’s because we have multiple points of views and because every character you meet is three dimensional.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the author’s choice of including Jake’s faith throughout the storyline. That’s something I hardly encounter in romances, unless they’re marked as “Christian”.

If you’re looking for a new voice in contemporary romance, I highly recommend Lexi Eddings and her heartwarming story of second chances, redemption, faith, hope and love.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

Leave a Reply

