‘My Rogue, My Ruin’ by Amalie Howard & Angie Morgan

mrmr-ah-amSTORY: The Marquess of Hawksfield’s lineage is impeccable and his title coveted, but Archer Croft is as far from his indulgent peers as he can get. His loathing for the beau monde has driven him to don a secret identity and risk everything in order to steal their riches and distribute them to the less fortunate.

Lady Briannon Findlay embraces her encounter with the Masked Marauder, a gentleman thief waylaying carriages from London to Essex. The marauder has stirred Brynn’s craving for adventure, and she discovers an attraction deeper than the charming thief’s mask.

Brynn is a revelation, matching Archer in intelligence, wit, and passion. Stubborn and sensuous in equal measure, she astonishes him at every turn, but when someone sinister impersonates Archer’s secret personality, and a murder is committed, Archer begins to think he doesn’t stand a fighting chance without her.

REVIEW: This is my first time reading both of these authors and I must admit that the cover was the first thing that attracted me to this story. I mean, HELLO!!! Just look at it! The second being the book blurb. It really set up the story well and I couldn’t wait to read it.

There is precedence of two authors co-writing one novel and most of the time this concept works. This is not the case with this book. It didn’t take me long to figure out what went wrong, but before I get to it, let me say that the writing wasn’t bad. It was decent and I could tell these two authors could write. I just don’t think they should write together. I think the characterization, plot and pace suffered because the reader is left baffled by storylines not finished and characters that are mostly one-dimensional.

I’m really sorry to say, but I wouldn’t recommend it and I don’t think I’ll continue with the series.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

Leave a Reply

