‘Cold-Hearted Rake’ by Lisa Kleypas

chr-lkSTORY: A twist of fate . . .

Devon Ravenel, London’s most wickedly charming rake, has just inherited an earldom. But his powerful new rank in society comes with unwanted responsibilities . . . and more than a few surprises. His estate is saddled with debt, and the late earl’s three innocent sisters are still occupying the house . . . along with Kathleen, Lady Trenear, a beautiful young widow whose sharp wit and determination are a match for Devon’s own.

A clash of wills . . .

Kathleen knows better than to trust a ruthless scoundrel like Devon. But the fiery attraction between them is impossible to deny—and from the first moment Devon holds her in his arms, he vows to do whatever it takes to possess her. As Kathleen finds herself yielding to his skillfully erotic seduction, only one question remains:

Can she keep from surrendering her heart to the most dangerous man she’s ever known?

REVIEW: I bought this book in its print version long time ago and then I sampled the audio. I was blown away at the narration by Mary Jane Wells and just had to have it. This is predominantly an Audio review.

If I had three words to describe it, they would be: Fun, heartwarming and brilliantly narrated!

But what stood out the most was the complex characters of the hero and heroine. They were flawed and yet compelling, which endeared them to me.

There are just too many memorable moments in this story, from the initial meeting of the two, their slow-burning attraction, but the time he told her he loves her and was giving her time to accept that love and would be faithful to her from that moment on, that was such a memorable speech and moment.

“Time is what I’m giving you,” he said, staring down at her. His hand curved beneath her chin, compelling her to look at him. “There’s only one way for me to prove that I will love you and be faithful to you for the rest of my life. And that’s by loving you and being faithful to you for the rest of my life. Even if you don’t want me. Even if you choose not to be with me. I’m giving you all the time I have left. I vow to you that from this moment on, I will never touch another woman, or give my heart to anyone but you. If I have to wait sixty years, not a minute will have been wasted- because I’ll have spent all of them loving you.”

I also loved every secondary character introduced to us. All were fun and funny.

Seriously, this is a must!

I adored the narration! From now on, I’m on a lookout for Mary Jane Wells’s narration 🙂

BTW, the second book in this series is Marrying Winterborne and it is as good as this one.

Melanie for b2b

Leave a Reply

