‘Duke of Midnight’ by Elizabeth Hoyt

dom ehSTORY: When a Masked Man . . .

Twenty years ago Maximus Batten witnessed the brutal murders of his parents. Now the autocratic Duke of Wakefield, he spends his days ruling Parliament. But by night, disguised as the Ghost of St. Giles, he prowls the grim alleys of St. Giles, ever on the hunt for the murderer. One night he finds a fiery woman who meets him toe-to-toe—and won’t back down . . .

Meets His Match . . .

Artemis Greaves toils as a lady’s companion, but hiding beneath the plain brown serge of her dress is the heart of a huntress. When the Ghost of St. Giles rescues her from footpads, she recognizes a kindred spirit-and is intrigued. She’s even more intrigued when she realizes who exactly the notorious Ghost is by day . . .

Desire Ignites a Dangerous Passion

Artemis makes a bold move: she demands that Maximus use his influence to free her imprisoned brother-or she will expose him as the Ghost. But blackmailing a powerful duke isn’t without risks. Now that she has the tiger by the tail, can she withstand his ire-or the temptation of his embrace?

REVIEW: At this point I’ve lost the count on this series …NOT! This is #6 and as in the books before it, we’ve already met the hero, Max. He is the Duke of Wakefield, heroine Hero’s (Notorious Pleasures) brother.

When we met him in her story, he was a very proper and stiff-upper-lip Duke. A bit cold and aloof, yet still a loving brother, if a bit strict. I was looking forward to his backstory and I loved the history the author gave him. I also liked the nod that the author did to the Batman’s Bruce Wayne. That was so cool!

I thought the heroine was one of those so well written and developed that she may as well have been the real Victorian women. Her backstory was very compelling and well done. She was strong, determined and very likable, not to mention witty.

Have you started reading this series yet? If not, I recommend it highly.

Her twin brother’s story is next and I’m chomping at a bit to read his story.

Melanie for b2b

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

One thought on “‘Duke of Midnight’ by Elizabeth Hoyt

Leave a Reply

