‘The Summer Queen’ by Elizabeth Chadwick

ec tsqSTORY: Eleanor of Aquitaine is a 12th century icon who has fascinated readers for 800 years. But the real Eleanor remains elusive.

This stunning novel introduces an Eleanor that all other writers have missed. Based on the most up-to-date research, it is the first novel to show Eleanor beginning her married life at 13.

Overflowing with scandal, passion, triumph and tragedy, Eleanor’s legendary story begins when her beloved father dies in the summer of 1137, and she is made to marry the young prince Louis of France. A week after the marriage she becomes a queen and her life will change beyond recognition . . .

REVIEW: Ever since I saw Katharine Hepburn as Alienor in “Lion in Winter”, I liked the character so much. That’s why this story intrigued me. I wanted to know what made this woman tick and I had faith in this author to take me on a journey of that discovery. What I didn’t count on was how emotional that journey would be.

The book opens with a thirteen year old Alienor as she sends her father on his way to a pilgramige, but what she doesn’t know is that he’s gravely ill. The conversation her father has with her as he is about to leave is so poignant and touching. He tells her that she is now in charge as his heir and she takes this to heart.

The story is chock full of many historical events and I loved reading about them as much as I loved reading about Alienor.

To follow this girl as she becomes a woman was such a treat and I highly recommend you pick it up.

This is thoroughly researched story and it shows. We follow Alienor’s life from 1137 to 1154, from her becoming Duchess of Aquitaine through her marriage to Louis VII, the future King of France and ending with her second marriage to Henry II of England.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

Leave a Reply

