Farewell Sweet Jo Bev …

jb

I cannot write this without tears running down my cheeks… Not knowing a person that passes and feeling a deep, heartrending sadness for the loss of that human is something I never felt before.

By now most of you heard that one of the most beloved romance authors has passed on yesterday. I’m not sure how many of you have known that she was ill. I didn’t and that’s no surprise. I never “knew” her. I’m not a part of her inner circle or a family member. I understand not knowing. I accept it. That fact, however, made the news to millions of her ardent fans that much shocking. I was stunned. Speechless. Hurt. Angry. Sad. Unbearably sad…

I was on Facebook when Joanna Bourne’s feed caught my eye and once I read the news, I just broke down and yelled, She can’t be dead! She just started her new website and a newsletter! What about her new series?!

And then the feed went wild with all her peers saying goodbye … and I just wept.

I adored her wonderful storytelling voice. Her heroes made me swoon and her heroines made me want to be them. Right now I want to curl up with all my print collection of her books around me and just caress each one slowly and reverently, remembering the tales within and stories behind each one as she told it.

Her tales made me laugh and cry. They were my friends when I needed some and they comforted me every time I turned to them.

It’s still not registering that I’ll never have a new story from her…

If you’ve never read a Jo Beverley book before, please correct that omission now. I beg you. You’ll not regret it. I promise.

This woman was well loved in the romance community and here is just a glimpse of one Word Wench saying goodbye to her …

In Memoriam: Jo Beverley

gb

 

6 thoughts on “Farewell Sweet Jo Bev …

  1. Very sad and shocked at this news. Jo was one of my favourite authors and a lovely lady
    I will miss her blogs and posts and new books .
    RIP Jo. Thank you for the wonderful books you gave us

  2. Mo

    I’m so very sad. I can’t believe it. I had to pare down my keeper shelf, but she had a prominent place on it. Thank you for the tribute.

  3. Diane Sallans

    You expressed what I felt too when I read that first Facebook post – shock, my heart hurt & tears came to my eyes so that I couldn’t see what I was trying to read on the Word Wenches site. So sad – she will be missed by many.

  4. It was such a shock to hear the news last night. I’ve been a fan of her books for more than 20 years. I feel blessed that I had the opportunity to meet her in person. I took the photo you used in this post last summer at a signing at the RWA conference in New York City. Jo was happy, full of life, and having fun meeting readers and joking around with fellow Word Wenches Joanna Bourne and Cara Elliott. That’s how I want to remember her each time I lose myself in one of the wonderful worlds of her creation.

  5. Erna

    Thank you for the wonderful summary of your reaction. I had a very strong shock reaction, too. I have read all her books except the April release, The Viscount Needs a Wife, which i am going to buy tomorrow, and the book she has written that will be published next year, I saw in a post. She has been such a stalwart of the genre that it seems hard to believe she is gone.

Leave a Reply

