‘Montana Bride’ by Joan Johnston

mb jjSTORY: A Desperate Deception
The Promise Of Forever

When Karl Norwood’s mail-order bride meets an untimely demise on the way to the Montana Territory, Hetty Wentworth steps in to take her place. Hetty has no idea how she’s going to pretend to be all the things she isn’t—including the mother of two kids. She only knows her deception is necessary if she’s going to save two orphans from the awful fate she suffered as a child.

Karl smells a rat when a much younger woman than he was expecting arrives with two children who look nothing like her. But his mail-order bride is so beautiful, he doesn’t object—until he realizes that his charming new wife has been lying . . . about everything. Can a woman forced to keep secrets and a man hindered by distrust ever hope to find happily ever after in each other’s arms?

REVIEW: Ms. Johnson continues her Mail-Order Brides series with Hetty’s story, Hannah’s sister, the one that I was on a war path with in Hannah’s story. Holy Crap! She might have driven me to murder were I her sister! If there was trouble to be had, she was in it to her eyeballs!

She drove me crazy in the beginning of this story but then I slowly warmed up to her, as her character grew, I liked her more and more.

As I mentioned before in my earlier reviews of this series, Ms. Johnson is good when it comes to characterization. Hetty is the proof of that. She created a whiny, shallow and bratty girl and then turned her into a compelling, affectionate and determined woman I couldn’t help but care for.

As for Karl, he was a perfect Beta Hero. As smart, patient and kind man who is plain looking, he thought he hit a jackpot with his beautiful mail-order bride. Hetty on the other hand wasn’t of a similar opinion when it came to her opinion of her groom.

I’ve read all the books in this series and I’ve loved them all equally. I’m chomping at the bit to read Josie’s story in ‘Blackthorne’s Bride’!

If you like western romance then this author and her books, this series included, should be on your list.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

2 thoughts on “‘Montana Bride’ by Joan Johnston

  1. Pingback: ‘Blackthorne’s Bride’ by Joan Johnston | bookworm2bookworm's Blog

Leave a Reply

