‘To Win a Lady’s Heart’ by Ingrid Hahn

twalh ihSTORY: He has secretly admired her from afar…

England, 1811. When John Merrick, the Earl of Corbeau, is caught in a locked storeroom with Lady Grace, he has but one choice—marry her. He cannot bear to tarnish any woman’s reputation, least of all Lady Grace’s.

She has lost everything but her dignity…

Lady Grace Landon will do anything to help her mother and sisters, crushed and impoverished by her father’s disgrace. But throwing herself into the arms of her dearest friend’s older brother to trap him in marriage? Never.

Corbeau needs to prove that he loves her, despite her father’s misdeeds. After years of being an object of scorn, not even falling in love with Corbeau alters Lady Grace’s determination to not bring her disrepute upon another. However, if they don’t realize that the greatest honor is love given freely without regard to society’s censure, they stand to lose far more than they ever imagined.

REVIEW: I love second chance at love trope and this one started off well. Somewhere along the way I got disappointed at the heroine and her steadfast refusal to accept the situation she found herself in. I wish she was more stronger.

On the other hand, I adored the hero. Seriously, he was such an honorable man. He knew his heart and he was determined to change Lady Grace’s mind about giving him and them one more chance.

As a whole, the story ebbs and flows, stalling here and there, yet I still enjoyed it.

For a debut, I liked it and will definitely give this author a chance to woo me with her stories.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the author

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

One thought on “‘To Win a Lady’s Heart’ by Ingrid Hahn

  1. I thought about giving this a try when I saw this up for review but it didn’t catch me as a must read other than a marriage of coincidence and being found locked in a storeroom. And from the last paragraph of the blurb, Lade Grace didn’t sound like a heroine I’ll like.

Leave a Reply

