‘The Dark Knight’ by Elizabeth Elliott

Stdk eeTORY: Thief, assassin, and master of disguise, Dante Chiavari is the most feared mercenary of England’s King Edward. On one last assignment, Dante must play the part of a chivalrous knight to steal Avalene de Forshay from her family and thwart the ruthless Faulke Segrave, who would wed Avalene and use her to spark war between Wales and the crown. Upon seeing the beautiful and innocent young maiden, however, the mercenary suddenly finds himself at the mercy of his own intense desire.

When Avalene meets the handsome knight she knows only as Sir Percival, he sweeps her off her feet even as he spirits her away from Coleway Castle. Their escape is wrought with risks and perils, but Avalene will find that the greatest danger lies in losing her heart. And after the truth is revealed, Avalene fears that she may never again be able to trust the dark knight who has come to mean more to her than life itself.

REVIEW: I can’t believe I let this book languish on my Kindle’s TBR for couple of years now. I finally got around to reading it this month. It’s a fourth book in Montagues series, which I’ve never read, but it hadn’t bothered me at all. It can really be read all on its own.

This is my first time reading this author and let me tell you, she is G.O.O.D. Very good.  From prose to plot and on to pace, this book sucks you in and doesn’t let go even days after you’re done reading it.

What I loved above all else, were our hero and heroine. These characters were extremely complex, yet so likable. The slow burn of their attraction to each other just jumped off the pages.

There was one thing that could have made this book even better than it was, and that’s the dialogue in the Medieval Renaissance speak. It would have had me sigh even more than I already had been! I do understand the reason behind not using it. It would probably drive some readers bonkers, and I probably would have had a hard time understanding some of the dialogue. But oh it would have sounded so very good.

If you’re like me and feel the need to step into Medieval time romance, please don’t hesitate to pick this one up. It will surprise and delight you. I promise.

And now I’m off to track the other three books in this series, The Warlord, Betrothed and Scoundrel 🙂

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

One thought on “‘The Dark Knight’ by Elizabeth Elliott

Leave a Reply

