Spotlight on Danelle Harmon and ‘The Wayward One’!

two dhSTORY: Irish Captain Ruaidri O’ Devir has no love for the English. Taken from his family and pressed into the Royal Navy at a young age, he is now a commander for the fledgling American Continental Navy, hand-picked by John Adams himself to steal a potent new explosive from the British. Ruaidri expects to be successful in his mission. What he doesn’t expect is to fall in love with the sister of the man he’s crossed an ocean to abduct…

Beautiful Lady Nerissa de Montforte is the youngest sibling in a powerful and aristocratic English family. Fiercely guarded by her overprotective brothers, she pines for love after a longtime betrothal was cruelly cut short. When she accompanies her brother to a demonstration of his new explosive, she never dreams that her wildest longings to find love and freedom are about to be fulfilled … by a man who is wrong for her in every single way except the one that matters most…

BUY LINKS: Amazon / B&N / iBooks / Kobo / Smashwords /

EXCERPT:

“But ye didn’t count on wantin’ to kiss me, now, did you?”

“I have nothing to lose at this point, do I?”

“No, but ye’ve got everythin’ to gain.”

“How so?”

He laughed, and it wasn’t just humor, but something dark just beneath the surface, something restless and dangerous and riding a narrow edge. Something full of challenge. “What’re ye goin’ to do when ye get back to England, lass?”

“Do?”

“Aye, do.”

“Why, I suppose I will … rest for a few days … perhaps accept the calls of my closest friends … write in my diary of this awful experience—”

“Awful?” He raised a black eyebrow.

“I’ve been abducted, nearly seen a man drown, almost been in a sea fight, and been kissed by a man who is altogether … unsuitable.”

“Ye needed to be kissed, and still do. Ye need to be kissed until yer lips are bruised and yer head is swimmin’ and ye can’t think of anythin’ but the feel of a man’s arms around ye and the anticipation of what comes next. Ye’ve never had a proper kiss in your life, have ye?”

“Of course I have!”

“No, ye haven’t.”

Her chin came up. “I’ll remind you, Captain O’ Devir, that I was affianced once. I can assure you I’ve been kissed.”

“Well now, that both answers and poses a question, it does. Ye’re young, probably heavily dowered, as lovely as Ireland is green and probably have men fallin’ at your feet like flies. Affianced once but no more, and still not spoken for. Why not?”

She felt the inevitable shame. The anger. The freefall of her heart as the events of the last months washed over her. “I would rather not talk about … my affairs.”

“Why not?”

“Because it’s none of your business!”

“Aye, ’tis right you are. None of me business.” He smiled that hard, razor’s edge smile, sighed, and appeared to relent.

Nerissa turned her face away to look over the waves.

“Why not?” he persisted, purposely bumping her with his elbow.

Frustrated, she turned to deliver a rebuke but he was grinning, and she realized he was intentionally baiting her and that getting her hot and flustered was, in some way, a victory for him.

“If you really must know, Captain, I … I have been holding out. Hoping that Perry would change his mind. Come to his senses. I loved him, and I don’t want to talk about him or any other potential suitors.”

“Why not?”

“Don’t you have any other words in your vocabulary besides those two?”

“Can’t think of any at the moment.”

He was still looking at her, one brow raised, waiting. “We could talk about you and me, if ye like.”

“There is no ‘you and me.’”

“There could be, if ye wanted it as much as I do….”

============================================

REVIEW: This is book five in the de Montforte series and many fans of this series will be overjoyed to finally read Nerissa’s story. I’ve read all of them and this one is my least favorite.

That said, I must say that the story is well written and with some great prose.

The night wasted no time in swallowing him.

~~~~~ *** ~~~~~

She was, in short, unreachable. Untouchable. Unobtainable.

~~~~~ *** ~~~~~

Velour, Virtue, and Victory was the family motto.

~~~~~ *** ~~~~~

Although it starts off a bit slow, the pace picks up fairly quickly and the action and addition of de Montforde brothers, especially Lucien, had me enjoy it to the max.

The only reason I haven’t fully enjoyed this story as much as I did the previous four, were the principal players.

As much as I liked them separately, together they had absolutely no chemistry. I honestly couldn’t figure it out. The hero was someone who had strength, charm and allure, but when it came to the scenes with them together, he came off boorish, overbearing and callas. By the time they were falling into bed, which was way too soon, I should have felt the connection, and I just didn’t.

In contrast, I liked the heroine much more and thought her characterization well done and much more believable, until she was in a scene with the hero, at which point she becomes naïve and at times, silly. I wish the author had given this relationship more time and space to grow, maybe become friends and allow the passion to develop in a slow burn. I believe that this would have made their first intimacy much more believable.

What I loved the most in this story was the action on the ship. It was written exceptionally well and I felt the tension as I was reading it. Now, I’m not well versed in anything nautical and most of the jargon was over my head, but I L.O.V.E.D. all the running around, dialogue and fighting. That I understood!

Another thing I loved was the appearance of Nerissa’s brothers. It made me realize how much I adored those books and now I’m ready to reread them all. Oh, and how can I forget Brendan and Mira?! Listen, if you’ve not read ‘Captain of My Heart’, then you better get to it. That was a romance for the ages! When I encountered them here, I just let out one of the most loudest sighs …

If you’re a fan of this author and this series, then this is a no-brainer! You have to read this story. It completes the series well. But if you’ve never read this author, then I would urge you to get the first book in this series, ‘The Wild One’, which has been FREE for a long time now. That was the book that had added Ms. Harmon to my ever growing list of favorite authors.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the author

AUTHOR BIO: Bestselling, multi-award winning and critically acclaimed author Danelle Harmon has written ten books, previously published in print and distributed in many languages throughout the world. Though born and raised in Massachusetts, she and her husband, a native of southwest London, were married and lived in England for several years.

These days, Ms. Harmon and her husband make their home in New England with their daughter Emma and numerous animals including four dogs, an Egyptian Arabian horse, and numerous pet chickens. Danelle welcomes email from her readers and can be reached at her Email or Facebook.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Facebook / Tweeter / Website / Blog

2 thoughts on “Spotlight on Danelle Harmon and ‘The Wayward One’!

Leave a Reply

