‘The Lady Risks All’ by Stephanie Laurens

tlra slSTORY: Neville Roscoe, notorious and enigmatic, lives resolutely outside society, bound only by his own code of honor – until challenged by his desire for the one woman he cannot have.

Miranda Clifford is a lady imprisoned by rigid respectability – until tempted by a passion beyond her power to deny.

Flung together in peril, through danger and intrigue, they discover a love impossible to ignore … or keep.

REVIEW: I am a fan of this author, but not all of her books are on my keeper shelf. With Ms. Laurens, it’s hit or miss for me. This one falls somewhere in between and for that I blame the pace of the story. It was a bit slower than I’d like, but the characterization and the plot definitely saves the story.

If you’ve read Ms. Laurens’s Black Cobra Series, which I didn’t, you may remember the hero as a secondary character in them. I wonder if by reading that series would have helped me understand the hero better, but plot wise, I don’t think it’s necessary to read that series in order to follow this story.

I have to say I liked the story most of the time. The characterization of the main characters was well written and the plot was okay, but the pace could have been better and with the mystery aspect of the story that should have helped, but it didn’t. That’s not to say that it wasn’t intriguing or entertaining.

If you’re this authors fan, you’ll probably like it, but it won’t be your keeper or your favorite. If you’ve never read her, then this shouldn’t be your introduction to this author. I suggest you begin with ‘A Rogue’s Proposal’, a book I adored!

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

One thought on “‘The Lady Risks All’ by Stephanie Laurens

  1. I’ve always wanted to know his story because he has always been fascinating but this definitely wasn’t my favorite and I had to drag myself through it.

Leave a Reply

