‘Most Improper Miss Sophie Valentine’ by Jayne Fresina

tmimsv jfSTORY: “Wanted: one husband, not too particular. Small dowry, several books, sundry furnishings, and elderly aunt included. Idlers, time-wasters, and gentleman without other attachments need not apply.” —Miss Sophie Valentine

A Scandalous Lady

Sophie Valentine knew placing an ad for a husband in the Farmer’s Gazette would bring her trouble—and she was right. When the darkly handsome, arrogantly charming Lazarus Kane shows up on her doorstep, the nosy residents of Sydney Dovedale are thrown into a gossiping tizzy. After all, it’s common knowledge that Sophie is a young lady In Need of Firmer Direction. But even Sophie isn’t so scandalous as to marry a complete stranger . . . is she?

Seeks Handsome Stranger

Lazarus Kane has been searching for Sophie half of his life. She may not remember him, but he could never forget her. But the past is a dangerous thing, and it’s best if his remains secret if he wants to tempt Sophie with…

A Most Improper Proposal

REVIEW: I started reading this one awhile back and at the time, I just couldn’t get into it. It was the plot that bothered me because it just rang unbelievable. Since I hate leaving things half-done, I thought to give it another go.

Now, while I loved the setting [Regency] and the trope [younger hero-older heroine], I hoped that the writing would be good as well. And it was …yet something about the whole of this book just wasn’t what I expected or what it could have been.

The story dragged throughout, the plot still bothered me, and the characters left me cold and miffed.

I was glad to give it a go, but in all honesty, I just can’t recommend it.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

2 thoughts on “‘Most Improper Miss Sophie Valentine’ by Jayne Fresina

  1. There are some books by this author I absolutely LOVE. Her newest one, for example (which is based on Jane Austen’s Persuasion). However, I think some readers find her books uneven, so sometimes you get lucky, and sometimes not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

