‘Only a Kiss’ by Mary Balogh

oak mbSTORY: The Survivors’ Club: Six men and one woman, injured in the Napoleonic Wars, their friendships forged in steel and loyalty. But for one, her trials are not over….

Since witnessing the death of her husband during the wars, Imogen, Lady Barclay, has secluded herself in the confines of Hardford Hall, their home in Cornwall. The new owner has failed to take up his inheritance, and Imogen desperately hopes he will never come to disturb her fragile peace.

Percival Hayes, Earl of Hardford, has no interest in the wilds of Cornwall, but when he impulsively decides to pay a visit to his estate there, he is shocked to discover that it is not the ruined heap he had expected. He is equally shocked to find the beautiful widow of his predecessor’s son living there.

Soon Imogen awakens in Percy a passion he has never thought himself capable of feeling. But can he save her from her misery and reawaken her soul? And what will it mean for him if he succeeds?

REVIEW: This is the sixth book in The Survivors Club series, and right now my favorite, but ever since this series started, I was very much intrigued by the secondary character in each book, that of George, who is the Duke of Stanbrooke. His story will finally come to light in the seventh book, ‘Only Beloved’. And that will end this series which I truly loved. I can see me rereading these while waiting for Ms. Balogh to give another series.

As all the stories in this series, this one too was intriguing and entertaining, fast paced and heart wrenching.

Imogen is the only woman of the Survivors’ Club, a group of mentally and physically damaged individuals, all suffering from the ravages of the Napoleonic Wars. Their close developed bonds while recovering at a remote estate of the Duke of Stanbrooke, who has lost his son in the war and his loving wife to a suicide after the news they received of his death.

I have to say that I had doubts about this hero being the right man for my Imogen. She had shown in all the previous books and I became very protective of her so this guy, on the first glimpse wasn’t anyone I envisioned her with. Well, color me green with envy when I got to know the hero a lot better. He was so perfect for her, I wanted to adopt him and his dog!

The blurb summarizes the book really well, so I’ll skip on that but I’ll tell you this. The story has many entertaining, fun, intriguing and heartwarming moments. It moves at a steady pace and it made me chuckle and cry. Highly recommending it!

Melanie for b2b

 

8 thoughts on “‘Only a Kiss’ by Mary Balogh

  1. Mel, I have been very remiss in starting this series although many of my friends have given it glowing recommendations. I now have book 1 and am definitely adding it to my reading for March.

    • OMG! You will love it. All are so well written and detailed and just heart wrenching and funny too 🙂 Can’t wait to see your reviews 🙂

  2. Thanks for the insightful review. I also thoroughly enjoyed this book. I have yet to read one of Ms. Balogh’s books that I didn;t enjoy. This is a wonderful series, and I can’t wait for George’s story!

    • I love Mary B’s writing a lot and she is only a handful of authors that I can binge read. You’ll like this series I’m sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

