‘Duchess Decadence’ by Wendy LaCapra

dd wlcSTORY: Thea Worthington, Duchess of Wynchester divides her time between social engagements and playing her luck against fickle fortune. Yet every gamble is only a bluff—a means to hide from the pain deep within her, and the loss of a babe she never held in her arms. Now Thea’s luck is about to run out. Her estranged husband has returned and seeks a reunion…

Plagued with guilt over what happened to his wife three years ago, the Duke of Wynchester has kept his distance. The duke is resolved to piece his family back together, especially now that he’s discovered his beloved brother—long thought dead—still lives. But Thea’s lovely, porcelain facade is on the verge of cracking…spurred on by the duke’s brother’s secretive, malevolent animosity.

With everything riding on her future, Thea plays a daring game of chance for love and her marriage…and this time, the dice are most certainly rigged.

REVIEW: Ms. LaCapra’s continues her Furies series with this third and last instalment and let me just say this: I adored it!

She consistently manages to surprise and delight this reader.

I am now firmly in this author’s corner and anxiously await her next series.

Ever since her début ‘Lady Vice’, which was one of the best debuts I’ve read in a long time, she has impressed me with her effortless prose and I’ll forever equate her books to late, great Kathleen E. Woodiwiss and her wonderful prose.

She’s done it again! I can’t tell you how much I love her prose. As she concludes her Furies series, I enjoyed, along with her wonderful prose, a heartbreaking, second chance in love story.

It was tender and sweet; fast paced and entertaining, and very poignant.

It was highly satisfying to finally get to know Thea and her Duke.

If you’re like me and second chance in love trope is what you love, than you can’t miss this tale. It will truly have you laugh and cry. I promise!

Here is a little teaser:

Gradually, as if pulled by the hopeful melody, darker refrain climbed into a higher octave still sad, but no longer mournful. As if he, too, were being pulled by a similar strain, he moved forward until he came to rest against the wall, Thea just beyond his reach. He cupped the back of his neck, closed his eyes, and pressed his cheek into his arm. The melody sunk back into darkness.

She played each note hard, clear, and full. Silently, he sank down onto his haunches and remained in this position until the music’s wistful yearning pushed him to his knees. He inched closer to her back, seeking solace in her nearness. When close enough to feel her heat, he paused and bowed his head. She must have sensed him; the music faded. His weight was on his knees, but his heart was in her hands and their future locked inside the sudden silence.

“Please,’ he whispered.

I rest my case.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

Leave a Reply

