‘A Baron for Becky’ by Jude Knight

abfb jkSTORY: Becky is the envy of the courtesans of the demi-monde – the indulged mistress of the wealthy and charismatic Marquis of Aldridge. But she dreams of a normal life; one in which her daughter can have a future that does not depend on beauty, sex, and the whims of a man.

Finding herself with child, she hesitates to tell Aldridge. Will he cast her off, send her away, or keep her and condemn another child to this uncertain shadow world?

The devil-may-care face Hugh shows to the world hides a desperate sorrow; a sorrow he tries to drown with drink and riotous living. His years at war haunt him, but even more, he doesn’t want to think about the illness that robbed him of the ability to father a son. When he dies, his barony will die with him. His title will fall into abeyance, and his estate will be scooped up by the Crown.

When Aldridge surprises them both with a daring proposition, they do not expect love to be part of the bargain.

REVIEW: There are so many ways books come my way. This one I found over social media, on Facebook and highly recommended by an author I love to read, Mary Jo Putney. She didn’t have to mention this book twice to me, so I went on Amazon and grabbed me a copy hoping it really will be as good as she said. And guess what?! It was magnificent!

I honestly don’t know where to start in praising this story. Do I first tell you how great and rounded all the characters were? And when I say all, I really mean A.L.L. = ALL! Not just our hero and heroine, but everyone we meet in this story, even the insignificant characters, were leaving an impression on me, such as the servants in the households we enter.

Or maybe I should tell you about a plot that despite it being done before, I found it unique because it wasn’t predictable and might have gone totally awry if it was in another author’s hands.

But I think I should tell you first about the pace. This is one of those books that you’ll “leaf” through in no time at all, that’s how fast it’s moving, but with its pace, it never-ever looses the meaning, or the passion with which it’s told.

But what was most delightful to me throughout this tale of unexpected love was a secondary character that had to be held back a few times as he was trying to overtake Becky and Overton’s story. I salute Ms. Knight in reining him in! I bet it wasn’t easy! I’m looking forward to Ms. Knight releasing those reins once his story comes through.

If you’re looking for a story that is fast paced and with all the feels [and I’m warning you, there will be crying some ugly tears in this one!], please don’t pass this one up. It is a gem!

Melanie for b2b

PS: Just in case you’re sceptical about new authors coming your way [which I am all the time!], here is this author’s FREE read, ‘Candle’s Christmas Chair’ so go forth and sample to your heart’s content!

Leave a Reply

