‘Behind a Lady’s Smile’ by Jane Goodger

bals jgSTORY: It’s one thing for a girl to lose her way, quite another to lose her heart…
 
Genny Hayes could charm a bear away from a pot of honey. But raised in the forests of Yosemite, she’s met precious few men to practice her smiles upon. Until a marvelously handsome photographer appears in her little corner of the wilderness and she convinces him to take her clear across the country and over the seas to England, where she has a titled grandmother and grandfather waiting to claim her.

On their whirlwind journey, she’ll have the chance to bedazzle and befuddle store clerks and train robbers, society matrons and big city reporters, maids and madams, but the one man she most wants to beguile seems determined to play the gentlemen and leave her untouched. Until love steps in and knocks them both head over heels…

REVIEW: I’ve read every book this author had written and she never fails to deliver on story, characterization and on the “feels”. And let me tell you something. The “feels” is where it’s at when I read romance, and especially this author. I’m frankly astonished that there’s very little buzz about her and her books. Seriously folks, if you’re a fan of Mary Balogh, Liz Carlyle or Grace Burrowes, then you just have to read Jane Goodger! She is that good!

In this story, the characterization is where it’s at and I loved this strong, sweet, funny and engaging heroine. I admired her courage and strength from the first moment I met her.

As for our hero, well, he sort of grew on me like he did on our heroine!

At first, I thought him selfish, but I quickly changed my mind and just let the story reveal him to me, layer by layer.

I found this story entertaining and lighthearted as I followed the adventure these two embarked on.

As usual, this author thoroughly entertained me with a slew of secondary characters that were as much fun as our duo.

If you’re like me and appreciate a story of a couple that builds their romance from a friendship, this is one story you must read.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

One thought on “‘Behind a Lady’s Smile’ by Jane Goodger

Leave a Reply

