Top 5 Movies/Books/Series That Made Me Cry Ugly Tears by Shana Galen

RogueYouKnowReleaseGraphic

For me, writing is very much an escape. I tend to enjoy writing stories that make me smile or laugh or get my heart pumping with excitement. But there can’t be a silver lining or a rainbow without a few clouds, and sometimes those dark moments can be emotional to write. In ‘The Rogue You Know’, Gideon is a thief from London’s worst slums. Susanna is the daughter of an earl who lives in luxury. Even though they fall in love, they know they have no future together. Writing the scene where Gideon has to say goodbye to Susanna had me crying and blubbering and shedding big, fat tears. I don’t always cry at my own books, but I have been known to cry at others’. If you’re looking for a tear-jerker, give these recommendations a try.

tdatlir lh1)       ‘The Duke and The Lady in Red’ by Lorraine Heath

Pretty much every Lorraine Heath book has me crying ugly tears, but this last one I read was the best (or should I say the worst?). I still get emotional thinking about it. Heath is wonderful at creating characters that are so real and vivid their tragedies become ours.

2)       ‘Just One of the Guys’ by Kristan Higginsjootg kh

I’ve read a lot of books by Kristan Higgins, but this one sticks with me. Higgins is such an amusing writer that you never even see the emotional punch coming. This is one of those books I was happily reading while my husband was watching TV next to me. The next thing he knew, I was sobbing. Of course, he wanted to know what was wrong. I had to explain these were the good kind of tears!

3)       P.S. I Love You

I read both the book by Cecelia Ahearn and saw the movie with Gerard Butler and Hilary Swank. The one that made me cry the ugly tears was the movie. The book was poignant too, but I cried for all two hours of the movie. It was probably the saddest non-Holocaust movie I’ve ever seen. So fire up Netflix, grab your tissue and cookie dough ice cream, and enjoy the cathartic release!

cnv ew4)       ‘Code Name Verity’ by Elizabeth Wein

This is a YA novel, but if your fifteen-year-old is the sensitive type, I wouldn’t give this one to her. The story of two women, one British and one Scottish, during World War Two, this book was rife with teary moments. It’s definitely worth the read, but you might not want to read it in public unless you have your dark glasses.

5)       Les Miserables

I’ve seen the musical, which is wonderfully emotional and always leaves me dabbing my eyes, but the movie ripped my heart out. It’s one of those where I needed my sunglasses for the long walk out of the theater so everyone wouldn’t see my bleary eyes and red nose. It’s a fabulous movie that everyone should see, but don’t forget the movie star shades.

Are you like me? Do you enjoy a book or movie that gives you all the feels? What’s your favorite (or least favorite) tear-jerker?

>>>>>>>>>> RAFFLECOPTER <<<<<<<<<<

***

RogueYouKnowBOOK BLURB: She’s beyond his reach…

Gideon Harrow has spent his life in London’s dark underworld-and he wants out. A thief and a con, he plans one last heist to finally win his freedom. But when everything goes wrong, he finds himself at the tender mercies of one of Society’s most untouchable women-Lady Susanna Derring.

…and out of her depth.
Susanna has spent her life in London’s glittering ton, under the thumb of a domineering mother-and she wants out. When a wickedly charming rogue lands at her feet, she jumps at the chance to experience life before it’s too late. But as she descends into London’s underworld, she finds that nothing- not even Gideon-is as it seems. As excitement turns to danger, Susanna must decide what price she’s willing to pay…for the love of a reformed thief.

BUY LINKS: Amazon / B&N / iBooks / IndieBound

TEASER:

Susanna jerked back, hidden on the far side of the desk again. Everyone knew London was rife with housebreakers, but would the thieves be so bold as to try and enter a house when the family was home? She heard a thump and trembled.

Apparently, the rogues were so bold. What would they do to her if they found her? Kill her? Rape her? Kidnap her for ransom?

She must escape, but how?

She peered around the desk again and saw two legs standing in front of the window. It was too late to run. The thief was already inside. She did a quick inventory of herself. She had nothing, absolutely nothing that would protect her from a ruffian.

She could hear the thief breathing now. He was breathing hard, as though he’d been running. She pressed her back against the oak of the desk and craned her neck. She spotted the shadow of a candlestick on the edge of the desk. She hadn’t lit the candle in it. If she could pull it off the edge without the thief noticing, she could use it to protect herself.

She felt the edge of the desk with her fingertips. Closing her eyes, she stretched her fingers until she touched the cool silver of the candlestick. She eased her fingers around it and tugged it soundlessly over the edge of the desk.

***

shana-galenAUTHOR BIO: Shana Galen is the author of fast-paced adventurous Regency historicals, including the Lord and Lady Spy Series, the Jewels of the Ton Series, as well as the Sons of the Revolution Trilogy.

A former English teacher in Houston’s inner city, Shana now writes full time, and is working on more regency romance novels! She’s happily married to the Ultimate Sportsfan and has a daughter who is most definitely a romance heroine in the making. Shana loves to hear from readers so feel free to talk to her on any of her social media sites.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Website  / Facebook  / Twitter  / Tsu  / Google +  / Pinterest 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Movies/Books/Series That Made Me Cry Ugly Tears by Shana Galen

  1. Janie McGaugh

    Right off the top of my head, I’d say that Johanna Lindsey’s James Mallory is my favorite historical romance novel bad boy.

    While I don’t like to cry, I’ll read a story that makes me cry a little, as long as I have my HEA!

  2. Linda

    I’m one of those unfortunate people that cry at the slightest thing. It can be most embarrassing but as I tell my family; if I’m sobbing over it it must be a good book!

Leave a Reply

