‘The French Executioner’ by C.C. Humphreys

tfe cchSTORY: It is 1536 and the expert swordsman Jean Rombaud has been brought over from France by Henry VIII to behead his wife, Anne Boleyn. But on the eve of her execution Rombaud swears a vow to the ill-fated queen – to bury her six-fingered hand, symbol of her rumoured witchery, at a sacred crossroads.

Yet in a Europe ravaged by religious war, the hand of this infamous Protestant icon is so powerful a relic that many will kill for it… From a battle between slave galleys to a Black Mass in a dungeon, through the hallucinations of St Anthony’s Fire to the fortress of an apocalyptic Messiah, Jean seeks to honour his vow.

REVIEW: As a fan of this authors writing voice, I was very happy to see that this series is now being offered in eCopy. Even after reading the synopsis, I was pleasantly surprised by the plot, and especially by the characters. This is not your average historical fiction and that, at least for me, was very good.

I’ve read so many Tudor historical fictions that sometimes I think I’m way too familiar with the subject. Well, color me happy with this story!

As much as I find Anne Boleyn’s character intriguing, it’s the swordsman who wielded the sword at her execution that I find fascinating. How many of us have ever even given a thought about the executioner who was specifically sent from France to execute Queen Anne Boleyn? I never did! CC Humphreys obviously had and he wrote a fascinating story about him.

I also liked and appreciated that this story was presented as an adventure, filled with plenty of swashbuckling, yet still had plenty of history to make it an all around entertaining read.

If you’re looking for an exciting novel populated with intriguing and fascinating characters, I highly recommend you pick this one up.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

Leave a Reply

