‘When a Rake Falls’ by Sally Orr

warf soSTORY: To win a race to Paris, dashing Lord Boyce Parker hires a balloon. He expects to be crowned the victor and become famous for his courage and intelligence. Only then can he regain his father’s respect from the scandal of publishing the naughty book The Rake’s Handbook: Including Field Guide.

Bluestocking Miss Eve Mountfloy makes a bargain with the handsome Pink of the Ton. She’ll fly the balloon during the dangerous crossing to France, if he lets her finish her scientific experiments to predict violent storms and thereby save lives.

Eve proceeds with her studies, but the results are not what she expected. Chafing to keep warm creates unusual sensations everywhere. Then when Lord Parker asks if she is curious about the heat generated by a kiss, well, she is curious. It seems Lord Parker is performing experiments of his own that will forever change Eve’s perception of the word “results.”

REVIEW: This is the second book in the Rake’s Handbook series and I have to say that it leaves me conflicted. I’m not really sure why that is. The story was great and it was fast-moving. The only thing that had me a bit on the sidelines were the main characters.

Lord Boyce Parker’s motives and reasons behind his quest to be famous by proving himself intelligent and courageous, therefore earning the respect of his father, was a noble thing to do, yet I wondered if there might have been other ways he could have accomplished this and not by entering this contest.

As for our heroine, Miss Eve Mountfloy, was exactly what I imagined a bluestocking would be. She is clever, stubborn and obsessed with her experiments.

Together they made for a cute couple, but I just never felt they were passionate either for each other or for their goals, and maybe that’s why I only liked this story.
Bottom line, the plot is well written so it made for an entertaining and lighthearted story.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

One thought on “‘When a Rake Falls’ by Sally Orr

  1. I have found Sally Orr to be a terrific author and I have this new novel on my Wish List. Great review, Mel, and congratulations to Sally Orr!

Leave a Reply

