‘The Tutor’s Daughter’ by Julie Klassen

Tutor'sDaughter_mck.inddSTORY: Emma Smallwood, determined to help her widowed father regain his spirits when his academy fails, agrees to travel with him to the distant Cornwall coast, to the cliff-top manor of a baronet and his four sons. But after they arrive and begin teaching the younger boys, mysterious things begin to happen and danger mounts. Who does Emma hear playing the pianoforte, only to find the music room empty? Who sneaks into her room at night? Who rips a page from her journal, only to return it with a chilling illustration?

The baronet’s older sons, Phillip and Henry, wrestle with problems–and secrets–of their own. They both remember Emma Smallwood from their days at her father’s academy. She had been an awkward, studious girl. But now one of them finds himself unexpectedly drawn to her.

When the suspicious acts escalate, can the clever tutor’s daughter figure out which brother to blame… and which brother to trust with her heart?

REVIEW: Emma Smallwood is her father’s teaching assistant in his small school and after the loss of her mother, determined to remain close to him as he deals with his grief. Having taught two of the four sons of the Baronet Weston in Cornwall, Mr. Smallwood and Emma agree to journey to their home to teach the two younger sons. Their reception has been mixed and Emma feels very uncomfortable due to the coldness of the Baroness who has made it clear that the Smallwoods are not to be included in meals with the family. As Emma renews her friendships with the two older sons who were taught at their school, she begins to encounter numerous unusual occurrences such as piano playing in the night and pranks being played on her.

Without giving away too much, I must say that this was the type of novel I did not want to put down. I was taken with the Gothic and mysterious flair and how the author kept me guessing all the way to the end. I enjoyed this novel immensely as I have others of her books. Do read it. You won’t want to put it down either!

Connie for b2b

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

2 thoughts on “‘The Tutor’s Daughter’ by Julie Klassen

  1. I really enjoyed this novel and others by Julie Klassen. She’s very talented and writes novels that truly grab the reader. I eagerly await more books from her.

Leave a Reply

