‘The Seduction of Sarah Marks’ by Kathleen Bittner Roth

tsosm kbrSTORY: England, 1857

After a blow to her head, Sarah Marks awakens in a strange bed with a strange man and no memory of how she got there. Her handsome bedmate, Lord Eastleigh, tells her she’s suffering from amnesia, and the best course of action is to travel home with him until she recovers her memory.

Lord Eastleigh has his own reasons for helping Sarah and keeping her close. Reasons he cannot tell her. As they struggle to restore her memory, their undeniable, inadvisable attraction grows—until Sarah finally remembers the one thing that could keep them apart forever.

REVIEW: This story is Kathleen Bittner Roth’s debut and I loved it!

The book blurb gives you enough of the storyline, so I’m going to tell you what I liked about this story and why I think you’ll like it too.

First, let’s talk about our hero. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this man and the reason for it is because he is such a flawed and complex character that you have no choice but to care for him, even though at times you want to smack him. But most of the time, you just want to hug him!

As for our heroine, she is as flawed and possibly even more complex than our hero, and no mater her actions, I found myself willing her to persevere in her quest to find out who she is and where she belongs.

I also found the romance between these two perfectly paced and the chemistry electric, even when our main protagonists were at daggers drawn and at cross purposes.

As I finished reading this story, I wholeheartedly wished for all the secondary characters to find their happily ever after. They have truly enhanced this story, from Mum, Eastleigh’s eccentric grandmother who thinks she’s the Queen Mother, to Will, Eastleigh’s younger sister who dresses in men’s clothing and is overly protective of her brother. And don’t even start me on Sir Crocodile! You need to read the book to find about this man!

To close, this début is well written, well plotted with some curve balls that were not expected and plenty of twists that will keep you guessing and reading until wee hours of the morning.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copy provided by the publisher

2 thoughts on “‘The Seduction of Sarah Marks’ by Kathleen Bittner Roth

  1. I just saw this book and it totally grabbed me. Then I saw your review and it’s cemented the fact that I need to read this one. Good review, Mel!

Leave a Reply

