Spotlight on Karen Ranney and …

Clan Sinclair!

The Devil of Clan Sinclair [book 1]

tdocs kr 1BOOK BLURB: For Virginia Traylor, Countess of Barrett, marriage was merely the vehicle to buy her father a title. Widowhood, however, brings a host of problems. For her husband deliberately spent the money intended for Virginia and her in-laws, leaving them penniless—unless she produces an heir. Desperate and confused, Virginia embarks on a fateful journey that brings her to the doorstep of the only man she’s ever loved…

He’s known as The Devil, but Macrath Sinclair doesn’t care. He moved to a tiny Scottish village in hopes of continuing his work as an inventor and starting a family of his own. He bought the house; he chose the woman. Unfortunately, Virginia didn’t choose him. Macrath knows he should turn her away now, but she needs him, and he wants her more than ever. Whatever game Virginia’s playing, Macrath intends to win—one wickedly seductive deed at a time…

REVIEW: This is the first story in the Clan Sinclair series, and it is very well written, as most stories from this author are. If you’d give me two words to describe this story, they would be dysfunctional and compelling.

Here is what I mean. The main characters are very complex, never dull, always moving forward with set purpose. Both characters have a ton of baggage from the outset of the novel. Both employ destructive behavior, hurting each other in the process, yet when you look a bit closer into their psyche, and realize the reasons for that, you can’t help but sympathize regardless of how much you disapprove of their behavior.

Ultimately, that’s what made this story come to life for me. Call me crazy, but I liked their ‘dysfunctional’ relationship, which by the way gave me angst throughout the book. Without it, this would have been just another romance with a ‘misunderstanding’ as its main plot.

In the end, Ms. Ranney did a good job of pulling me into and making me care for these two and their story, while at the same time I appreciated their imperfections.

The Witch of Clan Sinclair [book 2]

twocs kr 2BOOK BLURB: Logan Harrison is looking for a wife. As the Lord Provost of Edinburgh, he needs a conventional and diplomatic woman who will stand by his side and help further his political ambitions. He most certainly does not need Mairi Sinclair, the fiery, passionate, fiercely beautiful woman who tries to thwart him at every turn. But if she’s so wrong for him, why can’t he stop kissing her? He is completely bewitched.

Mairi Sinclair has never met anyone like Logan Harrison, the perfect example of everything she finds wrong with the world. He’s also incredibly handsome, immensely popular, and impossible to resist. His kisses inflame her and awaken a passion she can barely control.

Can two people who are at such odds admit to a love that would bind them together for life?

REVIEW: ‘The Witch of Clan Sinclair’ is the second book in Karen Ranney’s Clan Sinclair trilogy and my favorite of the three. While I found ‘The Devil of Clan Sinclair’ to be dysfunctional and compelling, ‘The Virgin of Clan Sinclair’ laugh out loud funny, this story was brilliant and the reason for it was its spunky heroine. I loved her forthrightness and her no-nonsense attitude as much as I loved the dialogue between everyone in the book, which for me, kept this story moving fast. Mairi was a force of nature and I found her irresistible as much as our hero did. Her determination to succeed in ‘men’s world’ was truly admirable and watching her go about it was fascinating to me.

And then we have our hero Logan who you just couldn’t help but like. He was as straight-laced as they come, and loyal to a tee, to his principles especially, yet I loved watching his mind at work as our heroine starts to ‘grow’ on him.

The pace of their romance was perfect for me, and the sensuality of their scenes is such that gave me the goose bumps. Every scene with those two was electric.

In the end, if you enjoy a fast paced plot, sweet and sensual romance with strong leads, and Scotland as a setting, this is a no brainer, you’ll love this story. I’d like to point out that you really don’t have to read these stories in order of their publication. All are stand alone, yet I found that reading them in order helped me understand this family better.

The Virgin of Clan Sinclair [book 3]

tvocs kr 3BOOK BLURB: Ellice Traylor has a secret. Beneath her innocent exterior beats an incredibly passionate and imaginative heart. She has been pouring all of her frustrated virginal fantasies into a scandalous manuscript. But when her plans for her future are about to be derailed by her mother’s matrimonial designs, she takes matters into her own hands.

Ross Forster, the Earl of Gladsden, has spent his life creating order out of chaos. He expects discipline and calm from those around him. What he does not expect is a beautiful, thoroughly maddening stowaway in his carriage.

But when Ross discovers Ellice’s secret book, he finds he can’t stop thinking about what other fantasies the disarming virgin can dream up. He has the chance to learn when a compromising position forces them to wed. But can the uptight Earl survive a life with his surprising new wife? And how will the hero of Ellice’s fantasies compare to the husband of her reality?

REVIEW: ‘The Virgin of Clan Sinclair’ is the third book in the Clan Sinclair series, and we finally get a better look at Ellice Traylor, sister-in-law of Virginia [Traylor] Sinclair who was the heroine of the first book, ‘The Devil of Clan Sinclair’.

I must say I was a bit put off by this heroine. At times I liked her naiveté, and at times I found it irritating. For some reason I just couldn’t get the ‘feel’ of her. She was cool, yet warm; serious, yet funny; virgin, yet knowledgeable enough of sensuality to write some ‘steamy’ stuff. In the end I had to admit to myself that while I admired her tenaciousness and determination to write and publish a book, a very naughty book, I had a very hard time understanding her fully.

Ross Forster, the Earl of Gladsden is one of those heroes that are Alpha with some of the Beta tendencies that are hidden way beneath their exterior, making him much more complex and interesting. For someone like him, who values order and peace in his life, something he actually worked hard to do despite his personal family problems, meeting Ellice and discovering the woman beneath the virgin was something he didn’t expect nor want, yet couldn’t help but give into the overwhelming attraction to her.

Bottom line, I liked the story, but not as much as the first two books, even though this one did make me laugh out loud more than the other two. If you’re a fan of this author, this is a must read, but if you’ve never read her before, I’d suggest you start this series with the first book, that way by the time you get to this novel, you’ll be familiar with her writing style and voice, so you’ll enjoy this story more.

Melanie for b2b

Complimentary copies provided by the publisher

krAUTHOR BIO: I’m a writer who’s been privileged to have attained the New York Times and USA Today Bestseller Lists. I write romance under Karen Ranney and romantic suspense and mysteries under my pseudonym, Katherine Storm.

I believe in the power of the individual, the magnificence of the human spirit, and always looking for the positive in any situation. I write about people who have been challenged but who win in the end. [taken from Goodreads]

To read more about this wonderful author please click here.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Website / Facebook / Twitter

2 thoughts on “Spotlight on Karen Ranney and …

  1. Great reviews of each of those novels, Melanie. Karen Ranney is such a talented author whom I’ve admired for a very long time. I have not read all of her novels as yet, but there are some that I have read more than once. “An Unlikely Governess” is not to be missed. It is by far my favorite Karen Ranney novel! Three cheers for Karen Ranney!!

  2. Thanks for the reviews! I have these books stacked up on my TBR. I couldn’t resist the covers & thought the stories sounded good! Soon!

Leave a Reply

