Fan2Author Interview with Becky Monson!

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000031_00006]b2bConnie: Becky, before I start with the questions, how about you tell us a bit about your writing career so far?

Becky Monson: My writing career started when I was working in an office and I was basically the only person there. It was incredibly boring. So I decided I was going to write a book. That was long before Thirty-Two Going on Spinster came out and what the story started as, is not what it became. I wrote the story over many years, stopping to have a baby and then picking it up again. It wasn’t until I heard about a friend who was self-publishing and doing fabulously that I decided to really finish it. It’s been a crazy and fun rollercoaster ride over this past year and a half. I’ve loved it!

b2b: What was your favorite book as a child?

BM: I would have to say Charlotte’s Web. I really adored that book. Still do.

b2b: Is there a book you’re never tired of reading over and over?

BM: I can read Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella over and over again and never get sick of it. Also the Harry Potter series.

b2b: Do you like reading classics and is there one that you’re embarrassed to say you’ve never read?

BM: I used to love reading the classics, but it’s been a while. I’ve never read Gone With the Wind. I know, I’m ashamed. It’s on my to-read list, though! So hopefully soon!

b2b: Is there a book that you recently read that you wish you had written?

BM: Oh my gosh – have you read any of Penny Reid’s books? If you haven’t, go get them now. She is so fantastic. Smart, witty, romantic. Anytime I read her books I think, dang it! Why can’t I write like her? I tell her that I want to be like her when I grow up, only I’m five years older. She’s an author to watch, for sure.

b2b: What’s a movie adaptation of a book that you loved or that you wish it is made?

BM: Well, I would love to see Thirty-Two Going on Spinster made into a movie! I think it would be so fun! A book that was made into a movie that I loved was Austenland by Shannon Hale. It was almost better than the book… almost.

b2b: If you were given only one genre to read for the rest of your life, what would it be?

BM: Chick lit, of course! It’s by far my favorite genre. I love that it’s an escape and usually a happy one.

b2b: What was the last book that made you laugh out loud, and what was the last one that made you cry?

BM: The last book that made me laugh out loud was Jayne Denker’s Picture This, which is a super cute book. The last book I read that made me cry was I’m Still Here by Kathryn Biel. Such a fantastic read.

b2b: During a thunderstorm – stay inside or sit on porch watching the show?

BM: I stay inside. Mostly because my kiddos are scared of thunder and lightning. And although he won’t admit it, my husband is too.

b2b: Flannels or Silk?

BM: Flannels.  I like the comfort feeling of it.

b2b: Sports car or SUV?

BM: Well since I’m a mom of three, I can only choose the SUV. I don’t know if I would drive a sports car even after my children grow up. My husband, on the other hand…

b2b: Cats or Dogs?

BM: Cats. But my husband is allergic so we can’t have any animals, which is okay with three young kids – I don’t need to add to the chaos. But when they are older and more responsible, I think it will be sad for them.

b2b: Champagne or Beer?

BM: Neither – I’m a Diet Coke addict. I swear I’m quitting this week, though (I say that 32 Going on Spinsterevery week).

b2b: Movies or TV?

BM: I used to love TV, but the more I write, the less I watch. I do love going to the movies with my husband, that’s kind of our thing. Unless it’s a chick flick, then he’s out and I so I go with my girlfriends.

b2b: What’s your favorite TV show or movie?

BM: The only show I make time to watch is Downton Abbey. I avoided it for a while, but then my husband got me the first three seasons last Christmas and I watched them all in just over a week. I ignored everything! Such a great show, though. As far as movies go, my all-time favorite when I was younger was The Goonies. It actually still might be my favorite.

b2b: Becky, thanks so much for stopping by b2b and we wish you great success with your novels.

BM: Thanks for having me! xoxo

BUY LINKS: Amazon / Nook / iTunes / Kobo

Author pic 1bw smaller

AUTHOR BIO: By day, Becky Monson is a mother to three young children, and a wife. By night, she escapes with reading books and writing. In her début novel, Becky uses humor and true-life experiences to bring her characters to life. She loves all things chick-lit (movies, books, etc.), and wishes she had a British accent. She has recently given up Diet Coke for the fiftieth time and is hopeful this time will last… but it probably won’t.
Author Links: 32GoingOnThirty / Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads
This entry was posted in Fan2Author Interview by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

2 thoughts on “Fan2Author Interview with Becky Monson!

Leave a Reply

