Karyn Gerrard’s Christmas Memories

I’m very excited to welcome this new author, to me at least. I only read two of her books, ‘Timeless Heart’ and ‘Christmas Memories’, and both I loved very much and hope you’ll give her writing a looksy. If you’d like to find out more about Karyn, click on the cover of her latest book or her pic, and you’ll visit her blog or her website!

Here she is to tell you more about her Christmas memories.

Thanks so much for having me here today Melanie!

Over three hot, muggy nights in July with the AC going full tilt, I wrote a Christmas short story.

A handful of e-publishers had submission calls out for Christmas so I wanted to see if I could cobble together a short story under 10,000 words. I never attempted a short story before.

Where to begin?

I started thinking about what I liked about Christmas, and how certain music,TV shows and movies can trigger Christmas memories. The light bulb came on and I started to write!

My hero as always is a bit of a tortured soul. He has past Christmas memories he would like to forget.

He accepts an invitation to spend Christmas at a wilderness lodge with some other guys. He hopes to play poker and let Christmas pass unobtrusively. He didn’t count on my heroine, Karin Kellegher!

I started to think, what is my favorite Christmas music? Even though I love hard-driving rock, I don’t like rock or pop in my Xmas music. (The lone exception, John Lennon’s Happy Christmas (War is Over).

The Christmas music I prefer is easy listening, Frank Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Dean Martin and Andy Williams to name a few. If I were to choose one album, it would be THAT CHRISTMAS FEELING by Glen Campbell. No, it is not country, Glen croons on this album to rival Sinatra. It was released by Capitol Records in 1968 and has been out of print for years. The MP3′s are available on Amazon. (I remember when Glen had his own variety show! I think I just aged myself. I was a very small child!)

My dad was Xmas shopping in ’69 when he heard the album being played in the department store. He liked it so much he bought it and Glen has been a part of our Christmases ever since. My parents still have the album and my two siblings and I made CD’s from the album complete with hiss, pops and scratches. We all love it and it evokes such wonderful memories every time I listen to it. I mention this album in my short story and when it is played it pulls the hero into Christmas memories of his past.

So what other Christmas theme brings back those warm, fuzzy memories? The next thing on my list was 1966 cartoon of Dr. Seuss ‘How the Grinch Stole Christmas.’ I haven’t missed a Christmas watching this in decades, I love this!

Thanks to DVD’s, I can pop it in anytime and watch it UNCUT and relive all those Christmas memories.

In my story, my hero Jimmy can recite the Grinch right along with Boris Karloff and in doing so, charms the woolen socks right off my heroine.

I never fail to get a lump in my throat when the Grinch carves the roast beast. It seems when it comes to Christmas, I am a total softie. I am a firm believer in tradition, love to decorate and cook the big-ass turkey dinner. Christmas is also when the hubs and I fell in love. Awwww. To me, it’s magical and I treasure all my Christmas memories.

So my question is this, do you have any favorite Christmas music, movies or TV shows that bring back any warm, sentimental Christmas memories? Let me know! I have a PDF copy of CHRISTMAS MEMORIES from Silver Publishing up for grabs!

And Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Season’s Greetings or whatever! Cheers :)