Happy Thanksgiving!

Are you ready to give your thanks for this year? I thought about that in regards to myself and that made me look back at the year that’s almost at the end.  I’m not sure how you feel about this past year, but for me it went waaay to fast!

I’m thankful for a bunch of things, but I have to say that having a ‘cool dude’ for a husband tops my list. He’s too handsome for his own good, spoils me rotten and lets me get away with too much crap! Maybe I should petition for his Sainthood…NOT! That would mean he couldn’t be ‘wicked’ when I want him to.

Let’s not forget my health. I was diagnosed with Lupus a few years back, but it has been dormant, and aside from a cold (that my new DIL gave me as a parting gift before they left for Arizona), I’ve been doing great [knocking on wood]. I also lost a ‘ton’ (not literally, mind you) of weight and in the process met a bunch of great women who gave me support and helped when I was down or up, whichever the case may be. Romance Biggest Winner has been one awesome ride that I hope continues past January 5, 2012 and I owe a lot to its founder, Ashley March.

I’m also thankful for having a job, and in this economy that’s something! I’ve been with this company from its start for four and a half years, and it’s a journey that I honestly hope goes on until I’m ready to retire. And then there are my ‘coconspirators’ that bring a smile to my face every day. I’m lucky [read Blessed] to work with such a fun bunch, which keeps my stress level at a ZERO!

I also am grateful to have a house which my DH and I made into a cozy and happy home! At the time when such things like ‘foreclosure’ is happening to so many, I feel Blessed that I’m married to someone who takes pride in knowing how to handle our finances.  Our two ‘beautiful babies’ Zakk and Phoebe, round-up that happy home, so I’m thankful for them as well.

As a mother to a daughter and a son, my thanks are easily given for having brought them up to be able to take care of themselves and create their own happy homes. I will miss my new DIL and my boy this Holiday Season, but to know that they’re happy where they are, gives me too much pleasure to dwell on anything else.

As for my ‘little girl’…I just wish she would work less so I could see her more. Life is too short, and unless we learn to prioritize, it will pass us by so quickly, we just might get a whip-lash! And then, it’s over…too late for regrets or making up for lost time.

My adoptive country…I’m thankful to be here, living free in this land of opportunity. It was the time of Disco Era when first I saw the skyline of Chicago, and my heart was full! For a teenager, in the 70s, this town was something out of the Movies. Surreal. To both my parents I will forever be thankful for taking a risk and making such a monumental leap of faith in leaving everything behind to start fresh in a country which language they didn’t speak a word of! Now, how cool and courage’s was that?!

The soldiers and their families…We should all be thankful to them for an enormous sacrifice they’re willing to give so we can be free, and that is waaay too cool!

My family and friends who are strewn all over the globe-from Serbia to Australia, Germany and England to here. We don’t see them often enough, but thanks to this age of technology, we’re closer than we would have otherwise be!

YOU! I’m thankful to you for subscribing, for reading, following and supporting me in this endeavor. If you weren’t coming back, I wouldn’t be writing this right now. But you ARE here, reading my interviews, reviews and my occasional rant or a rave, so THANK YOU! I wish and pray that you have a very safe and happy Thanksgiving. Remember to eat plenty, drink in moderation and hug a tree! HA! Gotcha!!! But seriously, don’t be stingy on the hugs! Give them freely and often! I do…

While my DH is putting the Christmas lights outside I’m busy cooking with Christmas music blasting and tonight we’ll have a lot of fun having hot chocolate while decorating the house and putting our Christmas Trees…

Oh, and I’ll be posting some reviews soon, giving some books away and there’s much fun to be had in December, but before then, we still have one more week of ‘hook-a-book’ to go through as well as a VERY special guest on the 30th [keeping my fingers crossed] and we have a KINDLE to give away on that day too! So enjoy your family and friends, and if you have a minute, drop me a line and tell me what you’re thankful for and are you missing someone this Thanksgiving.

10 comments on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. I got all teary-eyed reading this. You’ve written a beautiful ode to life, love and gratitude. I’ve been in a terrible mood all day, but this reminded me of my own blessings. Happy Thanksgiving. And post pictures of your Christmas decorated house!

  2. What a wonderful post! We truly are blessed, and this is a great time to be thankful and tell the people we love what they mean to us. So as my family gathers around the table today I will be telling them all how they have blessed my life and how much I appreciate every single one of them.

    • Thanks Kim!

      Can you believe I didn’t even think about posting anything? As a matter a fact, right after I just needed a few days to dicompress :)
      I hope you had a good one :)

  3. Happy Thanksgiving to you also. What a great post. I wish that I could work less to see my mom and also my kids. But you have to do what you have to do. Can’t wait for the special guest. Probly my favorite posts have been the hook-a-book. I love to read and love great book and author recommendations. I can’t wait for the kindle giveaway. Would love to have one.

    • Hey Chris :)

      I know what you’re talking about, but I think with age DOES come wisdom, so our perspectives change, and so do priorities.

      As for the SPECIAL GUEST!

      I put this out today on my b2b FB page:

      We’re ending our month long Blogoversary Celebration tomorrow with a BANG! Giving away ONE book, One Surprise ITEM and KINDLE TOUCH to THREE WINNERS! Will you be the one?! And this time I’m goimg to make y’all work for the surprise item :) Who will be the first to guess my Guest tomorrow?! The last name initial to this bundle of talent is…F!

      …Let’s give you another clue…READY?! First name innitial is…J!

      Okay..here comes the LAST clue….It’s a MALE, non author and a middle initial is…P!!! Now, I have really given it away and who ever gets it first will get a free book! COME ON!!! I have a book to give away!

      And I have someone DIS close to win a book :)

Leave a Reply

