My “Hook-a-Book’ is CAPTIVE OF SIN!

Have you read Anna Campbell novel yet? I only ‘discovered’ Anna last year, but I’ve gotten ‘hooked’ on her story telling by reading ‘CAPTIVE OF SIN’.

Right of the bat, I need to let you all know that I’m a sucker for a tortured soul, and this story has our hero Sir Gideon Trevithick, who as an English spy got captured in India, was tortured, rescued and brought home to be proclaimed a national hero. He meets battered and bruised Lady Charis Weston who distrusts and despises men after some horrible treatment she receives from her step brothers, who are trying to prevent her from inheriting a huge family fortune.

From the first to the last paragraph of this book, you WILL be enthralled, pulled, sucked and torn! You WILL be on the edge of your bed, chair or just pace back and forth! The tension in this book is palpable, emotions raw, and the courage of both hero and heroine will take your breath away!

Anna says this: “CAPTIVE OF SIN, my November 2009 release, also received wonderful reviews, including another Top Pick from Romantic Times. It was selected as one of the 100 best books of 2009 by prestigious industry journal Publishers Weekly, one of only five mass market paperbacks to make the list. So far, Captive of Sin has finaled in 12 contests and has won the Golden Quill as Best Historical Romance of 2009. It was voted most popular historical romance of 2009 in the Australian Romance Reader Awards. I’m delighted to say I was voted Favorite Australian Romance author of 2009 in the same awards.”

Here is Anna in her own words: “Being such an avid reader seemed naturally to morph into wanting to do what these wonderful writers did. My mother very proudly kept my grade two composition book in which I penned a heartfelt wish to become the new Enid Blyton (my obsession at that stage – my reading life has been marked by particular crazes. We won’t talk about the Dorothy Dunnett period). At least you can say I had a sense of vocation very early. When I was eight, that same mother was so desperate to shut me up – in between reading, I used to talk a LOT – that she gave me a Mills & Boon romance…

But I was immediately hooked. The emotion and the fact that a woman is so central to the story made these books precious to me. And I still feel that way about a good romance…

I started my first novel when I was in grade three – at least I took the promises I made myself in grade two seriously! An exciting saga about horsenapping that I never actually finished. I fiddled with various stories until I left high school, when I managed to finish a historical in the style of Kathleen Woodiwiss…

In between, I did an English literature degree at Queensland University… I came back to Australia determined to act on my writing ambitions so that’s when my gypsy years started. So many jobs, so little money. Retail. Hospitality. Marketing. An art gallery. Technical writing for training companies. Eventually, I settled in to a twelve-year stint in Sydney (thanks to a totally fluked win on a quiz show which funded the move). There I worked at a charity which subtitled TV programs for the deaf and hearing impaired. During all this time I wrote.

As many beginner romance writers do, I decided category would be an easy way into the industry. Even though my heart has always been with long juicy historicals. I finished seven short contemporary stories, all of which were rejected very nicely by Harlequin. By this stage, under the bed was more crowded than the center of Hong Kong at Chinese New Year. Then I worked on a pile of totally unmarketable historicals, some of which I finished, most of which I didn’t…

What made the biggest difference to me was joining Romance Writers of Australia. Suddenly I had like-minded people around me (up until now, I’d basically been working alone) who could offer advice and encouragement… Then one day, I got this idea for a dark sexy Regency historical about a duke who wants to marry his mistress, London’s most notorious courtesan. And ‘No Ordinary Duchess’, which Avon released in April 2007 as Claiming The Courtesan, was born. Claiming The Courtesan went on to final in the Romance Writers of America RITA Award for best Regency Romance and the Romance Writers of Australia Romantic Book of the Year Award. Among numerous awards, CTC was both best debut and book of year of 2007 in Michelle Buonfiglio’s Romance: B(u)y the Book, best long historical in the Booksellers Best Awards and best first historical in the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards. I was also delighted to be voted best new author in the All About Romance reader poll of 2007.”

Won’t you join our celebration by:

1) Telling us which ‘Hook-a-Book’ did/would you likely give your friends…

2) Subscribing to our Blog…

3) ‘LIKE’ -ing us on our Facebook!

All three are required for a TRIPLE chance to win in the Giveaway!