‘How to Marry a Duke’ by Vicky Dreiling

STORY: Tristan, the Duke of Shelbourne is a man with a mission: find a wife he can tolerate as long as they both shall live. No love is necessary—nor desired. But how to choose amid a dizzying array of wealthy-yet-witless candidates? Hire London’s infamously prim and proper matchmaker. Then pretend she’s not the most captivating woman he’s ever met . . .

Helping a devilish Duke create a contest to pick his perfect mate is the kind of challenge Tessa Mansfield relishes. Her methods may be scandalous, but she’s determined to find the notorious bachelor more than a wife—she’ll bring him true love. Yet when Tessa watches the women vie for the Duke’s affections, she longs to win his heart herself. And after a stolen kiss confirms Tristan’s desire, Tessa knows she has broken a matchmaker’s number one rule: never fall in love with the groom.

REVIEW: I have come to realize that the best books I’ve ever read were purchased on impulse, and this one is at the top. I was frankly STUNNED at how good this début book was. I started to read in the afternoon, and read it through the night, and early morning. I just could not part ways with it. The above blurb does not do it justice.

Our Hero meets our Heroine on page 4 by stepping on and crushing her fan. That scene was written so well, that it took me into that ballroom with it! From that point on, I was hooked, lined and sunk by the page 371 where I just broke down and wept.

I’ve read a few reviews of the book, and a lot of them are describing it as “hilarious”. To me the word “warm” would describe it better. This read, at least for me, was a perfect balance of romance, drama, and humor. I’ll go ahead and admit that I had my doubts about the premise of “The Bachelor” in Regency England. I didn’t think it would work, but boy was I proven wrong!

This was very fresh and entertaining. As for the “secret” and the mystery, even that surprised me! Just when I thought I figured it out, I’m knocked off my rocker! I loved the chemistry between the two main characters as much as I loved the chemistry of all the secondary ones as well.  I can’t begin to tell you how much I enjoyed the character of the Duchess, Tristan’s mother. I’m thinking of starting a petition for her love story in a novella if nothing else. Her Grace deserves her own happy ending!

There’s not a thing that I didn’t like about this book. Nothing. NADA! If you want to feel fuzzy kind of warm, and you want to laugh and cry, don’t pass this one up.  “How to Seduce a Scoundrel” is a story of Julianne and Hawk and it will be out in July of this year. Vicky Dreiling, where have you been hiding? Welcome to my Keeper Shelf!

Melanie for b2b

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

4 thoughts on “‘How to Marry a Duke’ by Vicky Dreiling

  1. I just read your review and confess I teared up a little. Thank you so much. Tristan & Tessa will always hold a special place in my heart. And you have a good point about the Duchess. She does deserve a happily ever after. I’ll definitely give that some more thought. Thank you again for your wonderful words about HOW TO MARRY A DUKE.

    • Dear Vicky!

      Thanks for reading my review.
      It was such a pleasure to read this book and I’m truly looking forward to your LONG, LONG career in writing!

      I would love it if you’ll consider coming back to the blog and Guest Blog about your next book!

      Thanks and see you around!
      Mel

  2. Mel,

    I’d love to do a guest blog. HOW TO SEDUCE A SCOUNDREL is coming out in early July (Amazon says June 28th, but that’s not always accurate). You’ve got my email address, so please ping me in late May or early June. I’ll add this to my calendar as well. Thanks again!

    • Well, I’ll be!
      Vicky U ROCK!

      You’re on, and I’ll be sure to remind you. Thanks so much. You made my day, my month, HELL you made my YEAR!

      Mel

Leave a Reply

