Sam Heughan IS James Fraser!

Sam-Heughan-Jamie-Fraser[1]

YES! It’s true! We have us a flesh and blood James Fraser in Sam Heughan!

This just in from DG’s FB page:

“I am UTTERLY delighted to be able to tell you that Sam Heughan is officially _confirmed_ as Jamie Fraser, for the new Starz cable-TV series!

Official press release/photo will be along shortly, I’m told. Meanwhile, I asked Sam how to pronounce his last name–just for starters <g>, to which he replied:

“HEW-an is good or if you can, insert the Scottish throat clearing/spitting sound in the middle… HewCH-an.
Hard to get right first time without spraying close friends with saliva.”

(For those of you wondering whether he can say “Sassenach” properly…)”

First time I saw him was last year in a Christmas Hallmark Movie playing Prince Ashton in “A Princess for Christmas” and he was just too cute!

Here’s what’s out there about him….

Sam Heughan is a graduate of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, he was a 2003 nominee for the Laurence Olivier Award for Most Promising Performance for his work in the program. Last year, he originated the role of Batman in the DC/Warner Brothers and Waterlane production of “Batman Live,” an international tour which opened at the Staples Centre in Los Angeles and went on to tour in South America and throughout Europe.

In 2010, he was nominated for a British Soap Award for “Villain of the Year” for his role as Scott Neilson in the BBC soap opera “Doctors.” He has also had roles in a range of television series including, “River City,” “Island at War,” “The Wild West,” “Midsomer Murders,” and, most recently, “Any Human Heart” as Lieutenant McStay. His TV movie credits include, “Breaking the Mould” for BBC Television, “A Very British Sex Scandal” for Channel 4 and “First Light” for BBC2.

He was nominated for a “Grace award” for his performance as Prince Ashton, the son of Sir Roger Moore, in “A Princess for Christmas” for Hallmark Channel. His film credits include the short film Small Moments, and the feature films Alexander the Great from Macedonia and Emulsion. He will also be seen in the upcoming film Heart of Lightness. On stage, Heughan has performed at a variety of theatres in such productions as “King John,” “Romeo and Juliet,” “The Vortex,” “Hamlet,” “Macbeth,” “The Talented Mr. Ripley” and more. At the Royal Scottish Academy, Heughan starred in productions including “Crime & Punishment,” “The Seagull,” and “Prometheus Bound.” He is repped by United Talent Agency in the US and United Agents in the UK.

Here’s more about the production of the series [this WILL be a series and not a pilot, not a mini-series! 16 Episodes for the first season, which means a book per season! just imagine! we have 7 books so far and the 8th is on its way next year! it's up to us to make sure it's picked up for season 2, 3...and so forth!]

O DG

“The series adaptation for “Outlander” will be written by Ronald D. Moore (“Battlestar Galactica,” “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine,” “Star Trek: The Next Generation”). Ronald D. Moore and Jim Kohlberg are executive producers of “Outlander,” which is produced by Tall Ship Productions, Story Mining & Supply Company and Left Bank Pictures in association with Sony Pictures Television. The series will begin filming in Scotland this fall.”

When the author Diana Gabaldon is quoted as saying:

“Oh. My. God. That man is a Scot to the bone and Jamie Fraser to the heart. Having seen Sam Heughan not just act, but be Jamie, I feel immensely grateful to the production team for their painstaking attention to the soul of the story and characters.”

- then by God he is!

And here is an excerpt from OUTLANDER, just to remind you how good these two are, as if you can forget it, right?!

“Because I wanted you.” He turned from the window to face me. “More than I ever wanted anything in my life,” he added softly. I continued staring at him, dumbstruck. Whatever I had been expecting, it wasn’t this. Seeing my open mouthed expression, he continued lightly.

“When I asked my da how ye knew which was the right woman, he told me when the time came, I’d have no doubt. And I didn’t. When I woke in the dark under that tree on the road to Leoch, with you sitting on my chest, cursing me for bleeding to death, I said to myself, ‘Jamie Fraser, for all ye canna see what she looks like, and for all she weighs as much as a good draft horse, this is the woman’”

I started toward him, and he backed away, talking rapidly. “I said to myself, ‘She’s mended ye twice in as many hours, me lad; life… amongst the MacKenzies being what it is, it might be as well to wed a woman as can stanch a wound and set broken bones.’ And I said to myself, ‘Jamie, lad, if her touch feels so bonny on your collarbone, imagine what it might feel like lower down…’”

He dodged around a chair. “Of course, I thought it might ha’ just been the effects of spending four months in a monastery, without benefit of female companionship, but then that ride through the dark together”–he paused to sigh theatrically, neatly evading my grab at his sleeve–”with that lovely broad arse wedged between my thighs”–he ducked a blow aimed at his left ear and sidestepped, getting a low table between us–”and that rock-solid head thumping me in the chest”–a small metal ornament bounced off his own head and went clanging to the floor–”I said to myself…”

He was laughing so hard at this point that he had to gasp for breath between phrases. ”Jamie…I said…for all she’s a Sassenach bitch…with a tongue like an adder’s …with a bum like that…what does it matter if she’s a f-face like a sh-sh-eep?” I tripped him neatly and landed on his stomach with both knees as he hit the floor with a crash that shook the house.

”You mean to tell me that you married me out of love?” I demanded. He raised his eyebrows, struggling to draw in breath. “Have I not…just been…saying so?”

So, all you Outlander fans, spread the news! We need to show Sam and Diana our support! We are over 20 million strong and growing!

Sam’s Tweeter is: https://twitter.com/Heughan =  #JamieFraser ‎#Outlander

Here are places you can show support to Diana Gabaldon / Website / Facebook / Tweeter

If you’ve never read any of her books, then it’s time you start! You can get them on Amazon or a book store near you.

*gotta give credit for the above picture to The Good, The Bad and the Unread Blog. I’m not sure where they got it, but boy it IS perfect!

4 comments on “Sam Heughan IS James Fraser!

  1. OMG! I had my doubts as to if he would be Jamie that I have in my head, and heart :) , but that picture above is a YES for me! I can’t wait to see if they do justice to her books. I plan on starting the entire series, for the umpteenth time, this year so I can fall right into the new one coming out.

    • LOL! He’s such a charmer! You’ll love him! I’ve been following him on Tweeter and he’s having a ball with this already! It will be good, you’ll see!

  2. Pingback: Outlander

  3. Thanks for sharing Mel! Not exactly the Jamie in my mind, put pretty darn good…as long as he can carry the accent ;)

Leave a Reply

