Fan2Author Interview with…Máire Claremont!

Maire Claremontb2bMelanie: Hello Máire and welcome to b2b! I’m so happy you’re here! The buzz about ‘The Dark Lady’ is great! How exited are you with ‘The Dark Lady’ coming out?  I can’t even imagine the feelings you’re going through! The only closest I can compare it to is sending my kids off to the Kindergarten and hoping they’ll do good without me there to guide them….

Máire Claremont: Oh my!!!! I am totally over the moon. The release has been so exciting. I can barely believe it is all real. And yes, it is a bit like sending your baby into the world and hoping that no one bullies it.

b2bMelanie: Before I start with my interview, won’t you introduce yourself to our readers and tell us a bit about yourself and your début novel?

Máire: Well, I am a bit of a gypsy soul! I love to move. I’ve lived all over the US and the British Isles and Ireland. I have an M.A. in Drama and adore film and live theaters. My début is a bit on the different side. Very dark, focusing on a heroine escaping the insane asylum.

b2bMelanie: Máire, I am such a sucker for a tortured hero, and in ‘Dark Lady’ I had two-for-one. Both Eva and Ian traveled some rough road to their HEA and you made them work for it!

I found the story truly unique and exciting to read. You had me on pins and needles all through out! What made you choose this premise?

Máire: You know the premise was completely unmeditated. It came to me as I tried to go to sleep one night. The story literally came to me in the dark and I had to get up and start writing.

b2bMelanie: I must say that the many scenes you wrote just tugged at my heart-strings… How hard of a time did you have going so deep into the psyche of your Ian and Eva? I wondered if the intimate and sensual scenes came easier than those of Ian and Eva’s personal suffering. By the way, who did you model Eva and Ian after?

Máire: Oh thank you!!!!!!! Sometimes it was very tough, mining their grief and walking their paths with them. I loved writing the intimate scenes because it was a chance for them to be happy amidst their sorrows but it was also really natural to write the darker scenes as they were so true to character. Eva and Ian aren’t mirrored off anyone or anything. They are completely unique to me.

b2bMelanie: I think Cover Art is almost as much important as the content of the novels, but I find that not many publishers are acknowledging the artists or the models, and as an avid reader I love all aspects of the novel I’m about to read.

Tell me about the cover art for this book. It is stunning. This woman looks just like what I pictured Eva to be.

Máire: I got SO SO lucky!!! Jon Paul was the designer. Signet just really went to town on giving me the most beautiful cover. I sent them some images and we had a cover conference about the feel. Wait until you see Lady in Red’s cover!!!

b2bMelanie: You sure did! Jon Paul is such a sweetheart, not goona even attempt to hide my adoration for the man!

Maire Claremont The DarkLady Book Tour

Let’s talk titles…How hard is it to ‘name’ your ‘baby’? Have you gone through more than one and can you tell us what they were? 

Máire: The Dark Lady was ALWAYS the title. I was so lucky. It came to me. It’s a reference to Shakespeare’s Dark Lady sonnets. And my editor loved it and it never had to change.

b2bMelanie: Do you let someone read your work during your writing process? Who’s the lucky person and why? Or do you wait ‘till it’s finished, then you let someone read it…and who?

Máire: Oh yes! Delilah Marvelle author extraordinaire reads everything I write! Lacey Kaye also often looks and my amazing agent Helen Breitweiser!

b2bMelanie: OMG! The Delightful Ms. M. sure is lucky! I can’t tell you how lucky I was to meet her last year. Adore her!

We all have favorite books, authors… How about you? Are you willing to fess-up?

Máire: Elizabeth Hoyt is my very favorite historical writer right now with Delilah Marvelle making a very close second. They both write amazingly detailed deep books.

b2bMelanie: Totally with you on that one!

What’s on your TBR right now?

Máire: Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt and Forever A Lord by Delilah Marvelle.

b2bMelanie: I don’t have Hoyt’s, but now must get it. As for Delilah’s book, I read it as soon as I got my special ARC copy and loved it!

Now, that ends up our ‘professional’ portion of this interview. Are you ready to get personal? Or are you going to chicken out on me?

Máire: Do I look like a Chicken?!? LOL.

b2bMelanie: HAHAHA!…Let’s get Personal:

So, tell us something personal about yourself that you’d like us to know…anything that makes you comfortable…or not…like how many times did you fall in love?

What’s your favorite meal of the day (food)? Flannels or Silk? Do you like to cook? What’s your favorite spot in the house? Cats or Dogs? Champagne or Beer?  Your favorite time of the year? What are your fears? Your joys?

Máire: Oh Wow! I am almost never in love! I think that’s why I love romance. I can fall in love whenever I want!

M favorite meal is dinner. I adore Indian food! Chicken tikka Masala?? nom nom om.

I’m flannels all the way because they are the best to write in!

My favorite spot in the house is. . . the bed. I even write in it. :D

I adore cats!! Always have. I love their snobbiness.

I’m a total Champagne girl. I adore bubbles!

My favorite time of year is Fall. I love the transition and the turning of the leaves! Such a gorgeous time of year!

Fears?? Failure of course or rejection. The nice thing is with all the writing, I’ve had to face my fears. And the more you face those fears, the stronger you become.

I do cook and actually like it unless I’m cooking just for me.

My joys??? Traveling!!! I could travel all year long and never get tired of living out of my suitcase! In fact, that’s my goal, to be able to travel ALL the time.

b2bMelanie: Máire, thanks for ‘coming over to play’! I wish you a long and ‘muse’ filled writing life. It has been a pleasure and much fun to host you and get to know you.

*For Author’s Bio, please click on her photo. 

*Máire can be found here: Website / Blog / Facebook / Tweeter / Pinterest

TDL MC

“The Dark Lady” now available at: Amazon Kindle B&N / Nook /

*For an EXCERPT please click on the book cover.

GIVEAWAY

One commenter will win a choice of copy or eBook

of THE DARK LADY and all you need to do is answer a question…

If you could travel to any time, what it be and why??

* US only!

19 comments on “Fan2Author Interview with…Máire Claremont!

  1. I would travel to the Regncy or Victorian eras. I think the time periods would be interesting because of the differences between commoners and the aristocrats as well as the differences in fashion. Both would be great to be a part of but only for the day because I do enjoy my modern facilities ;)
    Thanks and so look forward to reading the book.

    • I LOVE the Victorian period, but I think I would rather travel to the Regency period!! Women had it much better off, but I do love the fact that the Victorian had so much change and growth!

      Thank you for stopping by!

  2. Thanks for the great interview. Just popping in to say hi so don’t add me into the giveaway, I want to give other commenters a chance to win this great book. As for the question I would love to travel back to the Regency and Victorian period. And if there were a Steampunk era I would go there too. I want to see some fine men in breeches and cravats, who wouldn’t! :)

  3. Good interview! I love Jon Paul’s work also! I don’t need to win, because I am patiently awaiting the book I already won!!!! Good luck with the book, Maire!

  4. Nice interview. Still looking forward to reading The Dark Lady, but haven’t had a chance to get it yet. (hint, hint) BTW, read Forever a Lord ASAP. Loved it! It is now on my fairly short list of 5 star books.

  5. Hi Melanie and Maire!

    Melanie, I’m so glad that you had Maire over today so I could learn more about her. I had found her web page and blog before Dark Lady was released and even though I’ve never commented there I found her posts to be very enlightening and a “must see” so check in there if you haven’t had a chance to yet.

    Maire – I love tovisit Engalnd during the Victorian era of history. It really was a time of change as well as the exciting things that happened during this era like The Great Exhibition and the first World’s Fair. No matter what period of this time in history that a book is set you can always know you’ll be introduced to exciting examples of the changes that were coming like industrial reform and the growth of the population the the goods and evils that accompanied those changes.

    The only problem would be deciding where I’d like to visit there first!

  6. Oh I have heard REALLY great things about this book! Thank you for sharing a little about yourself with us here today! :)

    If I could go back in time I’d want to go back to Oct. 14, 1066 and watch the Battle of Hastings happen.

  7. You got Delilah Marvelle to read your work…what did you do, ply her with fruity drinks and chocolate??? Come on, inquiring minds want to know! :)
    Between Delilah beta reading, and Jon Paul doing you cover you have it made!!! Well…that and having an intriguing story helps hehehe.
    Great cover, great story line, great interview. Congrats on the release!

    Hmm…going back in time, to the Delorian! I would hop on in and hit up King Arthurs court, get the low down on this Lancelot. See if any of the other knights are swoon worthy. Don’t worry…don’t worry, I will tell you what I find out as soon as I am back.

  8. thank you all for stopping by! I loved reading your answers ;D

    As for me, I am lately getting intrigued by the 1920′s and 1940′s, but I think hands down, I would have loved a prolonged sojourn into Restoration era….you know, all those over the top hair dues on men and women, and the clothes was amazing!

    Loved doing this interview! I see big things for this cutie-patootie! Cannot wait for the next book!

    BTW! Congrats Lexi! You won the book! Hope you stop by and tell us how you liked it after you read it!

    Mel

Leave a Reply

