Mia Marlowe’s ‘Hook-a-Book’ is…’Lord of Devil Isle’!

Click to read the back cover blurb!Mia here. My recommendation is Connie Mason’s LORD OF DEVIL ISLE. First let me share my disclaimer. I owe Connie. She graciously gave me a cover quote for my début book and we kept in touch after that. Now we’re collaborating on a new story that’ll come out in January called SINS OF THE HIGHLANDER. I have so much affection and respect for Connie, I have to confess that this is not an unbiased recommendation.

But none of that takes away from the fact that LORD OF DEVIL ISLE is a terrific read. Set in 18th century Bermuda, the story has a signature Connie Mason unique setting and an alpha hero to die for! And talk about adventure. The hero Nicholas Scott dallies with his mistress, kills a tiger shark with only a dirk, and rescues the heroine from a shipwreck without breaking a sweat. All in the first chapter or two. (Oh, and he sends the mistress packing in the next!)

In addition to a wonderful love story between two characters who need the healing touch love provides, there’s a fascinating bit of real Revolutionary War history embedded in the book. Nicholas leads a party of men who were responsible for the infamous “Powder Steal” in order to make sure Bermuda will continue to receive much-needed trade from the colonies. For the back cover blurb, click on the book cover and you’ll see what I’m talking about!

Melanie here. Are you familiar with Mia Marlowe? Last year, around this time I believe, I stumbled on a website of an author by the name of Emily Bryan and she offered free chapters of her novella A DUKE FOR ALL SEASONS which I just loved. Alas, I never read anything after Chapter 8 and I always wondered what happened in the end? Fast forward to this year, and low and behold the novella is now on my Kindle! I highly recommend it. It is truly a very sweet romance sprinkled with intrigue and sensuality that I have come to associate with Ms. Marlowe (Emily Bryan).  In reading SINS OF THE HIGHLANDER, which is a book collaboration of both Ms. Mason and Ms. Marlowe, I was awed at how seamlessly they merged this story of revenge and passion. Mark your Calender! This is NOT to be missed!

Now, here’s a bit about Mia Marlowe… 

Mia learned much of what she knows about storytelling from singing. A classically trained soprano, she won the District Metropolitan Opera Auditions and has shared a stage with Placido Domingo. As she prepared for operatic roles, she devised back stories for her characters. Since she’s worn a real corset, and had to sing high C’s in one, she empathizes with the trials of her fictional heroines. But in Mia’s stories, they don’t die in a Parisian garret. They get to live and keep the hero!

Like a lot of the best things in her life, she stumbled into writing. She’s had a rather checkered past, you see. After deciding not to lay her family on the altar of her singing career, Mia dabbled in lots of different things. She’s been–hold on!–a teacher, a choir director, a director of children’s ministry, a homeschooling mom, a real estate agent, a banker, and now an author.

Her dear husband and children supported her completely when she decided to try her hand at writing. She overheard one of her daughters tell a friend, “Well, of course, my mom can do it. She’s a Renaissance Woman. She can do anything!”

After that, Mia didn’t dare fail.

Relationships fascinate her. She loves the delicate dance between two souls and the steamy possibilities along the way. Other times and places call to her, so writing historical romance was a natural choice.

Mia would rather have an adventure than a new sofa. She loves history, art, music and travel. Especially travel. Good thing, since she’s lived in 9 different states. She regards her frequent moves as vacations on which she drags along all her stuff. Currently, she and her family call New England home.
 
One more thing she loves is connecting with other readers and writers. You can find her online almost every day on the social media sites and of course here on her blog! Mia’s online buddies are dear to her. She hopes to hear from you and would love for you to join her circle of cyber-friends.

Now an award-winning author, Mia Marlowe writes historical romance for multiple publishing houses. Her début title received advance ovations from romance luminaries. #1 New York Times bestseller Victoria Alexander says Mia’s Touch of a Thief has “adventure and heat and everything I want in a great story!” UK’s BooksMonthly has crowned Mia Marlowe “the queen of saucy historical romance.”

Won’t you join our celebration by:

1) Telling us which ‘Hook-a-Book’ did/would you likely give your friends…

2) Subscribing to our Blog…

3) ‘LIKE’ -ing us on our Facebook!

All three are required for a TRIPLE chance to win in the Giveaway!

23 thoughts on “Mia Marlowe’s ‘Hook-a-Book’ is…’Lord of Devil Isle’!

  1. All that excitement in the 1st two chapters! LOL
    I must check out the book, sounds most intriguing. I’ve not read any of Connie’s books before, much appreciate the recommendation.

    I’m currently reading The Soldier by Grace Burrowes & absolutely loving it. The book is the 2nd of her Windham series after The Heir which was her debut book. I was so impressed after reading The Heir that I immediately started looking for all her books. Great prez for any1 who reads Historical Romance.

    • LINDA!!!

      THE SOLDIER is so, so sinfully good! But, all of Grace’s books are just too real, touching and full of that special ‘humanity’ touch! It took me a YEAR to buy THE HEIR and then I couldn’t get enough of them! What I like about her stories is the ‘connection’ that is developed way before they get to that other ‘connection’, if you get my meaning. She developes her cheracters so slowly, like in real life…makes them all flesh & blood real!

      • I finished The Soldier last nite & it was just awesome. Cried a bit throughout (always the mark of a great book) & definitely was all teary at the end! I do so love the way she develops her characters, as you’ve mentioned. I’ve read other authors that totally fall flat in that area even with what seemed like such a promising book from reading the synopsis.

        Reading The Virtuoso next *eager anticipation* & I’ve bought Lady Sophie’s Xmas wish too & woohoo…it that the 5th book I see up on Goodreads? Gotta add that to my to read list!

  2. I can’t wait to read the collaboration. I love Connie Mason and look forward to getting to “know” Mia Marlowe.

    Mel, LOVE the Christmas tree wallpaper!!

    • Thanks, Mel. It is such an honor to work with a romance legend like Connie.

      It’s interesting that you should talk about “knowing” me through my writing. I think that’s so true. A writer can’t help put herself on the page. Our hopes, fears, biases, strengths and weaknesses are all there for the world to see.

      • Thanks so much, Bookworm. I confess that I’m very partial to “Mad Rob” MacLaren. Our hero is so damaged at first, I wondered if Elspeth was up to healing him.

      • Hello Mia!

        I just turned in my review of ‘Sins of a Highlander’ last night to Christine at Romantic Crush Junkies for eZine that she’ll be unveiling in January and my revie will be in it. I have to tell you that I’ve become yourfan by reading it, but the short novella sealed the deal for me and you’re now my ‘auto buy’ :)

        Mel

  3. I’m all for unbiased recommendations & we need more Renaissance women in the world.

    I could get hooked just by reading this post.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  4. Melanie, I’ve decided that you must have contacted all my friends and asked them what they wanted for Christmas and they all said books from differenet genres! Now you have Mia helping you out by picking one of my old favorites by Connie Mason!

    Everyday my “hook-a-book” choice has been changing and I decided instead to simply get one of each and then decide which friend will get which book!

    Connie was one of the first romance authors I read and of course I have many of those books in my TBRE-READ stash (or at least the ones my friends haven’t “borrowed” and never returned). I originally read Lord of Devil Isle during the heat of summer and believe me definately needed to “cool off” several times before I finished so it would be a perfect gift for the holidays for that friend living where the snow flies and you need something to warm you up!

    • Hey Chick!

      I think it’s your Birthday today, right? Guess what? I think I need to send you some more books :) I’ll get on it Monday after the holidays and we’ll let you choose one from my ‘orphaned’ pile :)

      Mel

  5. I have not read a book by either Mia or Connie either. I have a book by Mia in my TBR pile, but have not read it yet. The book by Connie sounds great and going to be adding to my must have list. I will have to choose my hook-a-book to be Julia Quinn’s The Duke and I or any of the Bridgerton series. I just picked this up the other day and read/scanned though it finding my fav parts and just love the book. The first of the series and a couple of my favs, Daphne and Simon. Great love story/great book.
    I love the hook-a-book special and this blog. Keep up with the great book and author recommendations. I love to read and always come back to this blog for more.

  6. I haven’t read a Connie Mason book yet so I’m definitely going to keep her books in mind. I just finished The Outsider by Penelope Williamson and loved it. She was a new author to me but not anymore :-) I love discovering wonderful books and since this one was an older release, I consider it a hidden gem. I would hook my friends on Ashes in the Wind for historical romances.
    I follow the blog via google reader.
    I liked on FB (Fiery Na)

    • I found my first Connie Mason book on one of those little turning book carousels in my local drug store. Like Kathleen Woodiwiss, she’s not tied into one setting or time period. When you pick up a Connie Mason book, you never know where in the world (or in history) she’ll take you.

    • Hey Na!

      I’m planning on asking both Mia and Connie to stop by if they’re touring (in January) so you’ll get to know them both. I swear I didn’t put together that Mia Marlowe (whose book TOUVH OF A THIEF I bought as soon as it came out, left it on my TBR, and then gave it as a gift-NEVER reading it) and Emily Bryan are one and the same. That will teach me! I heard so many great things of it and that’s why I bought it!

      I read the ‘Duke’ and will review it shortly. If you have a Kindle this one is a MUST! It’s a short story, but so very, very good :)

      Before SINS OF THE HIGHLANDER (and btw you HAVE to read this one; Holy Crap, it will be one of the best of 2012, and you heard it here first) I never heard of Connie Mason, but no more! Now, I’m going out of my way stocking up :)

  7. For some reason I’ve always been drawn to the Revolutionary War period, but there aren’t many romance novels set in that period. I’ve update my Connie Mason book list to make a note of this one – Thanks!

    • And the Bermuda setting–midway in the Atlantic, still part of the British Empire yet dependent on the American colonies for much of its food and raw materials and filled with people torn between the Crown and the call of freedom is a fascinating choice for the back drop of a love story.

Leave a Reply

