“REVERB” by J. Cafesin

STORY: James Whren is brilliant, beautiful and taken—with himself, or more precisely his genius for creating music.

On the eve of his brother’s funeral, his father turns his life upside down, and James is left abandoned in hell with no one real to save him.

His odyssey to freedom takes him beyond the looking glass, to the view from friends and lovers.

Humbled and alone, James escapes to the Greek island of Corfu. But instead of solace there, loneliness almost consumes him.

Until Elisabeth and her son Cameron.

REVIEW: I’ll not ruin my review of this book with any spoilers, so I’m not going to go into too much detail about it. I want you to experience it as I did. I want you to feel what I felt reading it. I will admit that it had me at the edge of my chair, couch or on my feet! And if you’re a ‘nail biter’, be ready to lose a few of those as well!

From the first sentence I just knew that I was in for a ride. This is not just a very well written story. This is a clever story. Every sentence of it has depth including the dialogue. The author took me straight into not just James’ head, but into his heart. I couldn’t help but feel what he felt, and every word he spoke. Ms. J. Cafesin has built the complex character of James with such meticulous care and gave him breath so that he became real to me.

The dialogue is sharp, too real and altogether refreshing. The story as well as the plot are a tad predictable, however in no way does it take away from the suspense or the excitement of it. Make no mistake; this is one hundred percent character driven story that will have you tied up in knots. Add to that a bunch of wonderful secondary characters like Kate ‘the pot smoking’ chick that gets into a car accident with our hero; Martin and John, his Gay friends; Julia and Stephen, the ‘ex’ and his Accountant; Howard ‘Harvard’ Miller, his father’s best friend and secretary-director. And of course Edward Whren, a father whose love for his sons either went too deep or not deep enough. We see James through their eyes and our love and compassion for this man just keeps growing.

Once the author introduces Elizabeth and her infant son Cameron into the story this thriller becomes a genuine love story. The relationship is built slowly and once again with such care that it feels real and not forced. Their falling in love is gradual and the reader feels the build up, so when they finally admit it to each other, I felt joy and was grinning from ear to ear.

Can you tell I liked this book?! If you like contemporary romance or a psychological thriller you just can’t miss this one. It is THAT good!

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , by Bookworm. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bookworm

I'm married, working, and have grown and independent kids. I love gardening, reading and painting. My favorite TV show is Dancing With the Stars! Television shows have gone to the crap house. My favorite movie of all time is "Last of the Mohicans" with Daniel Day Lewis. Second best is "Titanic" and third "Passion of the Christ". I am an avid reader and I love talking about the books I’ve read, especially romance novels. I will warn you though: I am prone to rants and raves about a lot of things!

Leave a Reply

