Drumroll, please…And 2011 RITA Winners are…

…NOT my favorite authors, and I’m bummed out. Not that I’m not happy for the women that won. I am. Truly. As you all know 2011 RITA Awards show is history now, and all the winners and their categories you’ll find here. I was only following three categories: Historical Romance, Regency Historical Romance and Best First Book.

I’d like to congratulate all the winners. I’m sure their work is well deserved of this award and I’ll be sure to go out and buy their books. However, that still leaves me a bit sad for the work and the authors I whole heartedly rooted for. In my humble, and not biased opinion I thought Joanna Bourne would surely win  the Historical Romance category with THE FORBIDDEN ROSE. Alas it was not to be and 2011 RITA  for Historical Romance went to HIS AT NIGHT and Sherri Thomas. I read the book and loved it, so I’m happy for her. CONGRATS to Sherri :)

My next favorite category was Regency Historical Romance and I rooted for “Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake” by Sarah MacLean, “Provocative in Pearls” by Madeline Hunter, “The Wicked Wyckerly” by Patricia Rice, “When Harry Molly” by Kieran Kramer. I read all of them and would have been glad for either woman to win it. I loved their books. “The Mischief of the Mistletoe” by Lauren Willig and “To Surrender to a Rogue” by Cara Elliott I’ve not read yet. I do have Cara’s book on my TBR list so eventually I’ll get to it. I had the pleasure to read “Twice Tempted by a Rogue” by Tessa Dare and while I think the book is a fun read, somehow I hadn’t thought it would win this category. In the end, 2011 RITA for Regency Historical Romance went to THE MISCHIEF OF THE MISTLETOE and Lauren Willig. CONGRATS to her and I’ll be sure to buy the book and read it now.

And now we come to Best First Book and out of all the books nominated I read only “When Harry Met Molly” by Kieran Kramer and since she got nominated in the other category I was rooting for her to win it in this one. Well, she didn’t so I’m bummed for her. The 2011 RITA for Best First Book went to PIECES OF SKY and Kaki Warner, so CONGRATS to Kaki and again, I’ll make sure to get her book and read it this year.

So, my bookworms, there you have it! To all the winners: WAY TO GO! To all of those authors that didn’t win, there’s another year and I’m sure I’ll be seeing your names nominated many times in the future and if I know you all as well as I think I do, you’ll all be gracious and tell me that’s an honor to be nominated and …blah, blah, blah, but let me be bummed for couple of days and use you all as an excuse to make me couple of my hubby’s Klown-Killers and cheer to the Winners and those that were nominated :)

ZIVELI!! (Serbian for CHEERS).

And just to get you in the mood to buy Kaki’s book, here’s the Trailer of it.

Oh, and I think if you haven’t read HIS AT NIGHT, this should get you out to the bookstore.

Lauren Willig doesn’t have the book trailer, but here she is talking about her book.